Skip to main content

KNR 208: Dynamics of United States Contemporary Health Issues: Home

Learning Outcomes

In this library session you will learn:

  • where to seek help for this assignment (or any future library research)
  • techniques for constructing a search on your research topic
  • evaluation techniques to determine the credibility and relevancy of a specific source
  • resources particularly useful for locating credible information on contemporary health issues

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Complete
A large interdisciplinary database.  Use to locate peer-reviewed journal articles.

Health Source Consumer Edition
Consumer-oriented health database covering over 280 health periodicals, over 1,000 pamphlets, and 23 health reference books. Provides citations, abstracts, and full text.

Health Source Nursing Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.

GreenFILE
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.

Lists of Milner Library Databases

Databases Showing Different Points of View

CQ Researcher
Online version of print source that focuses on current and controversial topics and examines multiple sides of the issues involved (1991-present).

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Contains articles, primary documents, biographies, statistics, topic overviews, court case overview, profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups, reviewed and subject-indexed web sites, images and more than 135 full-text periodicals and newspapers for over 100 controversial issues. Print version is highlighted below.

Points of View Reference Center
Similar to Opposing Viewpoints in Context, Points of View Reference Center contains essays on a variety of potentially controversial topics. Each essay presents multiple sides of a current issue and also provide questions and materials for additional study. Each essay is accompanied by supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.