Skip to main content

KNR: Recreation Management: Home

Article Indexes

Combined Search of SPORTDiscus, Academic Search Complete, and Business Source Complete
Academic Search Complete is the only database that shows, but if you click on "Show all," you can see the other two. Remember that these databases do not use the same Subject Headings, so you will need to rely primarily on key word searching.

Combined Search of Academic Search Complete and Business Source Complete

SPORTDiscus
Covers both serial and monographic literature in the following areas of sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning. Seventy percent of the database consists of periodical articles. Updated monthly. Provides citations.

Business Source Complete
offers comprehensive coverage of business topics with indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals beginning as far back as 1886 are included. It contains author profiles, company information and full text to over 30,000 journals and books.

Search Across All Library Resources (advanced search)
Searches across numerous article databases as well as the book catalog.  This can be a good way to pick up regional publications and newspapers.


Newspaper Databases

PsycINFO
Covers journal articles, book reviews, dissertations in psychology and related fields. Updated monthly. Provides citations and abstracts as well as full-text of recent articles published in American Psychological Association journals

Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,200 journals in the collection

SimplyMap
SimplyMap enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and marketing data (Nielsen, Simmons, MRI and EASI). Users need to sign up for a free account.  Milner's subscription allows two (2) person to use this site at any time. If all connections are being used, you will see a message stating that all licenses/seats are currently active. Try again later.

ABI INFORM
Search nearly 3000 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.

AGRICOLA
Coverage includes national parks and wildlife conservation.

Lexis Nexis Academic
Categories include News, Business, Legal Research, Medical, and Reference.  Includes citations, abstracts, and full text. Sources range from current newspapers, wire services, and news transcripts to Law Reviews and government publications.

PAIS International
Public Affair Information Service International indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Updated monthly. Provides citations, abstracts.

Sociological Abstracts Provides citations and abstractting for over 2700 scholarly journals, books, and dissertations related to the field of Sociology.

Suggested Journals

*  indicates a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal

Adapted Physical Activity Quarterly

American City and County

American Demographics

* Annals of Tourism Research

Aquatics International

Athletic Administration

Athletic Business
online digital issues

Camping Magazine

* Cornell Hotel and Restaurant Administration Quarterly

* Disability and Society


* Economic Development Quarterly

* Economic Geography

Event Management

Illinois Parks & Recreation (online journal)

* International Journal of Hospitality & Tourism

* International Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology

* International Journal of Sport Management, Recreation and Tourism

* Journal of Applied Sport Psychology

* Journal of Hospitality and Leisure Marketing

* Journal of Legal Aspects of Sport

* Journal of Leisure Research

* Journal of Park and Recreation Administration

Journal of Physical Education Recreation and Dance

* Journal of Rehabilitation

*Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology

* Journal of Sport and Social Issues

* Journal of Sport Behavior

* Journal of Sport Management

* Journal of Sport Rehabilitation

* Journal of Travel and Tourism Marketing

* Journal of Travel Research

* LARNet: The Cyber Journal of Applied Leisure and Recreation Research

* Leisure Sciences

National Parks

Palaestra

Parks and Recreation

PRB (Parks and Recreation Business) (online journal)

Resort and Recreation Magazine (online journal) 

* Psychology of Sport and Exercise

* Recreational Sports Journal

* Schole (2009-   )
   Schole (1999-2008)

* Society and Leisure

* Sociology of Sport Journal

* Sport Marketing Quarterly

* Sport Psychologist

Sporting News

Sports 'N Spokes

* Therapeutic Recreation Journal

* Tourism Management

Subject Guide