Skip to main content

SED Article Databases: Home

Suggested Article Indexes

The ERIC Database

The ERIC database includes more than 1.1 million citations that are related to education.  It dates back to 1966 and is the most comprehensive education database available.  Most of the citations are for journal articles,  However, some of the citations are for what are called ERIC Documents.  These citations will have "accession numbers" starting with an "ED" and are citations for either online reports or books  The newer online reports are usually available online.  Professors generally prefer peer-reviewed journal articles, so avoid over reliance on ERIC Documents. 

ERIC is available in several different interfaces. There is no "right" or "wrong" interface.  Depending on the search, sometimes EBSCO works better, sometimes OVID works better.  Some people have become used to using the free government interface. 

ERIC (EBSCO interface)
The EBSCO interface sometimes works better for key word searching.  EBSCO allows users to search more than one database at a time, so another strategy you might want to try is to click on "Choose Databases" and add ERIC and Education Abstracts (or even CINAHL) to your search.  Remember than you must rely on key words (as opposed to subject headings) if you are searching across databases.
.

ERIC (OVID interface)
 The OVID interface may work better for some searches.  The interface makes it easier to utilize subject headings, and it allows unlimited "boolean searching", which can be helpful in some searches.

ERIC (government interface)
This is a free interface and one that can be used when you are no longer a student here. The "Find It" button does not appear as part of the journal citations. Users must click on "Find In A Library" to link to Milner's holdings.

Education Abstracts

Indexes and abstracts articles from over 680 core education periodicals, with indexing back to 1983 and abstracts back to 1994.  Books n education published after 1995 are also indexed.  Although a smaller database than ERIC, it is sometimes a more direct way to identify articles located in important journals.  

Academic Search Complete

A large, interdisciplinary databaseIf you are looking for a very specific term, you might want to use the drop box to search "all text."  Remember, however, that Academic Search Premier can only search the full text of certain journals that it has full text rights to.  Since it does have rights to many education  journals, this can be a very powerful search.  It can also result in a large number of "false drops" if the term you type in is one that is commonly used.

PsycINFO (OVID interface)

Provides citations related to the field of psychology, including citations for books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO is a very important source of information for special educators. 

CINAHL

Includes citations related to nursing and allied health. Although not always the best choice for topics related to education, it may be helpful with topics that are more alligned with health care and rehabilitation.

Dissertations and Theses

Provides access to the full text of doctoral dissertations and masters theses.

PubMed

Includes citations and some full text reports related to the field of medicine.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Detailed information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks from the Buros Institute. Provides full text.