Skip to main content

KNR: Teaching Physical Education: Home

Article Databases

SPORTDiscus
Includes citations for journal articles and books in the following areas of sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning. Seventy percent of the database consists of periodical articles.

Education Full Text 1983 to present
This database provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and more. 

Education Index Retrospective 1929-1983
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 indexes more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks, and cites approximately 850,000 articles, including book reviews. Subject coverage includes adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more. It is the precursor to the Education Abstracts database.

The ERIC Database

Most of the citations are for journal articles,  However, some of the citations are for what are called ERIC Documents.  These citations will have "accession numbers" starting with an "ED" and are citations for either online reports or books  The newer online reports are usually available online.  ERIC is available in several different interfaces.

ERIC (EBSCO interface)
The EBSCO interface sometimes works better for key word searching.  EBSCO allows users to search more than one database at a time, so another strategy you might want to try is to click on "Choose Databases" and add ERIC and Education Abstracts (or even CINAHL) to your search.  Remember than you must rely on key words (as opposed to subject headings) if you are searching across databases.

ERIC (OVID interface)
 The OVID interface may work better for some searches.  The interface makes it easier to utilize subject headings, and it allows unlimited "boolean searching", which can be helpful in some searches.

ERIC (government interface)
This is a free interface and one that can be used when you are no longer a student here. The "Find It" button does not appear as part of the journal citations. Users must click on "Find In A Library" to link to Milner's holdings.

Academic Search Complete
A large, interdisciplinary databaseIf you are looking for a very specific term, you might want to use the drop box to search "all text."  Remember, however, that Academic Search Premier can only search the full text of certain journals that it has full text rights to.  Since it does have rights to many education  journals, this can be a very powerful search.  It can also result in a large number of "false drops" if the term you type in is one that is commonly used.

Combined Search (including Education Full Text, ERIC, Academic Search Complete, and SPORTDiscus)

PsycINFO
Provides citations related to the field of psychology, including citations for books, book chapters, and dissertations.

Selected Practitioner-Oriented Journals

Note: Titles are linked to the online full text when possible.  If titles are not available online, they are linked to the catalog record, which provides location information for the print subscription.   Links to SportDiscus are to searches that are limited to the journal being described. 

Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
Although there is a search box on the journal web site, it is necessary to do an advanced search and type in the name of the journal/publication.  You can also search in SportDiscus (search is limited to the journal) and then use the Find It button to get to the full text.

Strategies
Although available full text from the publisher, you might have better luck searching in SPORTDiscus (search is limited to the journal).  You can then use the Find It button to get to the full text.

Palaestra
About teaching students with physical disabilities.

Interscholastic Athletic Administration
Only available as a print subscription. Indexing available in SportDiscus.

Selected Scholarly Journals

Note: Titles are linked to the online full text when possible.  If titles are not available online, they are linked to the catalog record, which provides location information for the print subscription.   Links to ERIC and SportDiscus are to searches that are limited to the journal being described. 

Adapted Physical Activity Quarterly
Although available from the publisher in full text, their site is not easy to search.  You might have better luck searching in SportDiscus (search is limited to the journal).  You can then use the Find It button to get to the full text.

Journal of Sport Behavior

Journal of Teaching in Physical Education
This is probably the most important scholarly title.  Although available from the publisher in full text, their site is not easy to search.  You might have better luck searching in ERIC (search is limited to the journal).  You can then use the Find It button to get to the full text.

 Physical Education and Sport Pedagogy
Although available from the publisher in full text, you might have better luck searching in SportDiscus. (search is limited to the journal)  You can then use the Find It button to get   to the full text.

Physical Educator

Quest
Emphasis on higher education.

Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport
Although available from the publisher in full text, you might have better luck searching in SportDiscus (search is limited to the journal).  You can then use the Find It button to get   to the full text.