Skip to main content

KNR: Therapeutic Recreation: Home

Suggested Databases

SPORTDiscus SPORTDiscus may be the most direct way to locate information. Before you start searching, look near the bottom of the screen and notice that you can limit to a specific Database Subset. Try limiting to Recreation and Leisure. You may also want to limit the Language to English. Then try typing in the disability you have chosen. Don't type in too many terms! You may also need to try alternative terms or broader "umbrella" terms. You will probably pull up citations for book chapters, dissertations, and trade journals. For some assignments, you may want to limit to "peer reviewed."

CINAHL Note: You will probably want to click on "Keyword" in the upper left hand corner before starting your search. CINAHL covers Nursing and Allied Health. One relevant subject heading is Recreational Therapy.

PsycINFO As the name indicates, a database that covers Psychology. Includes books, book chapters, and dissertations. One relevant subject heading is Recreation Therapy.

PubMed PubMed provides citations and abstracts of research artices, including some links to the full-text of articles. Using a link to PubMed from one of the library's web pages is preferable to going directly to the database because the library l adds  the "Find It" service which links to the library's holdings (both online and print). Short Video: How to Move Citations from PubMed to RefWorks
An alternative interface is Pub Med (Web of Knowledge).

ERIC Covers the field of Education.  One relevant subject heading is Therapeutic Recreation.

Academic Search Complete  A large, interdisciplinary databaseIf you are looking for a very specific term, you might want to use the drop box to search "all text."  Remember, however, that Academic Search Premier can only search the full text of certain journals that it has full text rights to.  Since it does have rights to many  journals, this can be a very powerful search.  It can also result in a large number of "false drops" if the term you type in is one that is commonly used.

Key Journals

Therapeutic Recreation Journal
Do not overlook this key source of information.   You may want to use the CINAHL database in order to search the contents of TRJ.  You can use the "Find It" button located on the citation, but "Find It" can only get to the journal level, not the article level, so you will still have to select the correct volume and issue.

American Journal of Recreation Therapy
Only available as a print subscription.  Milner's subscription to this important journal just started with Winter 2009.  For earlier issues, you will need to go through interlibrary loan.  The best indexing is available in CINAHL.

Annual in Therapeutic Recreation 
Only available as a print subscription. Published by the American Recreation Therapy Association.  The most comprehensive indexing is in the CINAHL database.

Disability and Society Our subscription to this journal does include the full text. The scope goes beyond recreation, so all of the articles will not be relevant, but this important journal is worth checking