Skip to main content

Art journals: Home

.

Ana Mendieta, Untitled, 1982. Drawing on Leaf. Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, Boston, MA, USA. CAMIO

Tip!

Use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to access information about journals.

Ulrich’s is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription. The data is updated on a daily basis throughout the year.

Periodicals

This library guide presents a selected list of journals relevant to the study and research of art and visual culture.

Periodicals in Milner Library are located in numerous locations and various formats depending on their publication dates or format.

Locations (generally):

Current periodicals (usually the most recent year): Main floor--Current periodicals collection

Periodicals 1999/2000 to most recent: located on the subject floor (ex: art floor 6)

Periodicals published prior to 1999/2000 located in on-site storage or off-site storage and may be requested through the online catalog.

Formats:

E-Journals: accessible on-campus and remotely, dates vary with publication. You may  also use the FIND IT tab to locate e-journals.

Print: use Milner's online catalog to search for journals.

Microfilm: Microfilm readers are available on Milner's main floor. Printing is available.

  Questions?

 

Selected titles from the print collection--current copies located on floor 2

Archives of American Art Covers all aspects of American art history from the 18th century to the most recent past . Includes fresh and uncommon perspectives on American cultural and social history.

Art in America covers contemporary art.

Art Journal Provides ideas and opinions that focuses on critical and aesthetic issues in the visual arts of our times.

Art monthly interviews, features on new artists and trends, gallery and museum reviews from all over the world, and art market information.

Art newspaper comprehensive and international coverage of the world of art: politics, economics, law, exhibitions, opinions, museums, restoration, dealers, galleries, publications and future events.

Artforum international covers contemporary art world, with sections on architecture, music, advertising and reviews of contemporary exhibitions worldwide.

Artnews Covers profiles of artists, surveys of gallery exhibits and international art news.

Arts of Asia Leading magazine of Asian art.

Bomb Provides original fiction, poetry, essays, interviews and dialogues between artists, fiction writers, musicians, playwrights, directors, actors, photographers and musicians.

Cabinet Contains articles, interviews, commissioned projects, and special sections on international art and culture.

Frieze: contemporary art & culture Covers international contemporary art and the culture it reflects.

Juxtapoz Offers a gallery of underground artists. Includes full color layouts featuring painters, sculptors, cartoonists, and photographers along with portfolios, sketches, interviews and reviews.

Modern Painters

Mousse Contains interviews, conversations, and essays by some of the most important figures in international criticism, visual arts, and curating today, alternated with a series of distinctive articles in a unique tabloid format.

New Criterion Features review articles on arts and intellectual life.

Parkett Documents European and American contemporary art. Each issue covers several important artists and is produced in close collaboration with those artists.

Raw Vision Coverage of outsider art subjects from all around the world.

Sculpture Explores all forms of contemporary sculpture including provocative criticisms, knowledgeable technical discussions and timely exploration of new materials and techniques.

Woman's art journal Provides a forum for examining feminist concerns of the women's art movement. Covers issues related to women in all areas of the visual arts.
X-tra Promotes and provokes critical dialog about contemporary visual art.

 

Related journals available via Milner Library's electronic resources

Camera Obscura
Provides innovative feminist perspectives on film, television, and visual media.

Journal of Visual Culture
Aims to bring together work from a range of methodological positions on various historical moments and across diverse geographical locations. The Journal will promote research, scholarship, and critical engagement with visual cultures.

October
Presents current texts by and about leading contemporary artists, scholars and critics. Topics include film, painting, music, photography and more.

Photographies
Aims to further develop the history and theory of photography, considering new frameworks for thinking and addressing questions arising from the present context of technological, economic, political and cultural change.

Representations
Provides a forum for new work in cultural studies, art, history, literature, anthropology, and social history.

Visual Culture in Britain 
Addresses a range of contemporary debates involving constructions of racial, ethnic and gender identities, nationality and internationalism, colonialism, high and low culture, the role of institutions and cultural groupings, models of production and consumption.

Visual Studies
Investigates the relationship between society and photographic, film, and video images.

Word and Image
Intended for literary critics, art historians and critics, linguisticians, cultural and social historians, philosophers and psychologists, as well as the academic departments of literature, art history, and media and communications studies.

Afterimage
Presents independent critical commentary on issues in media arts, including scholarly research, in-depth and bite-size reviews, and investigative journalism.

Cultural Studies
Provides a forum where academics, researchers, students and practitioners can consider and review patterns of power and meaning in contemporary culture, and focus for work in the interlocking areas of media, communication and cultural studies.

Critical Inquiry
Debates a variety of topics about literature, art, architecture, film, history, philosophy, and music.

European Journal of Social Theory
Provides a world-wide forum for contemporary social thought, such as critical theory; the approaches of Habermas. Bourdieu, Touraine, Luhmann; neofunctionalism; postmodernism; critical realism; the sociology of knowledge; rational choice; constructivism; and feminist social theory.

International Journal of Cultural Studies
Promotes investigation of issues of culture and media in a global context and from a postdisciplinary perspective.

Media, Culture & Society
Provides a major international forum for the presentation of research and discussion concerning the media, including the newer information and communication technologies, within their political, economic, cultural and historical contexts.

Parallax
Seeks to initiate alternative forms of cultural theory through a critical engagement with the production of cultural knowledges.Subjects covered: Anthropology; Gay & Lesbian Studies; Gender Studies; Literature & Literary Criticism

Early Popular Visual Culture
Dedicated to stimulating research and interdisciplinary studies in relation to all forms of popular visual culture before 1930.

Space and Culture
Concentrates on a wide range of socio-spatial arenas such as the home, architecture, urbanism, virtualities and geopolitics.

Theory, Culture & Society
Provides a forum for articles which theorize the relationship between culture and society.

ImageTexT
Aims to advance the academic study of comic books, comic strips and animated cartoons.

Philament
Postgraduate journal of arts and culture.

Janus Head
an interdisciplinary journal that places emphasis on the intersections among literature, continental philosophy, phenomenological psychology, and the arts.

Public
Explores contemporary culture through the eyes of artists and theorists.