Skip to main content

English Studies: Home

Milner Library Homepage

ENG Call Number Stems

About the Milner English collection:
The English language and literature collection is located on the sixth floor of Milner Library. Call numbers of interest include

P--Philology, linguistics
PE--English language study
PN--Literature (General)
PR--English literature
PS--American literature

For a more thorough guide to the P call numbers, please consult the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

Researching Milner

Hello. My name is Jean MacDonald, the librarian for English Studies as well as Languages, Literatures and Cultures. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact me.

This guide can help you with:

  • Getting started with the research process
  • Identifying databases specific to your research need
  • Finding helpful resources

Conducting research is an iterative process. Below, you will see a template describing the basic steps of the research process. For more information about how to conduct research, consult our research guide.

Recommended databases for starting research:

  • MLA International Bibliography 1963 to present
    Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. Updates ten times per year. Provides citations, abstracts.
  • Linguisitics and Language Behavior Abstracts 1973 to present
    Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.

There are a wealth of other databases you may find useful for your research located here.

Loading

English Studies Librarian

Jean
Contact:
Office: 622A, Milner Library

Phone: 309-438-3516



Mail Code: 8900

Library Help IM