Skip to main content

Maps at Milner Library: Fourth Floor Map Area

Describes the collections and the services at Milner Library, Illinois State University.

Major Sections of the Collection

U.S. Topographic Maps

USGS Maps & Folios

U.S. State Geological Maps

U.S. Government Maps

Political Maps

Historical Maps

Thematic Maps

Illinois Maps

Gazetteers

Atlas Cases

Oversize

Map Collections By Cabinet

The following is a list of major collections by drawer/case:

United States Topographic Maps (first set of cases)

Illinois Plat Books (against wall in bookcases)

Illinois Collection: (first cases East of open area)

  • Illinois -- geologic maps
  • Illinois -- historical and political maps
  • Illinois Geoloical Survey
  • Illinois: County, Highway Condition, Chicago census
  • Census: County/town, Champaign-Urbana, Peoria, Dewitt
  • Dekalb Township
  • Survey Illinois: River and Tributaries for Flood Control
  • Illinois: Electric, gas, mining, rivers, transportation, topo, soil, parks, political, Chicago street maps
  • US / Illinois city, highway

Historical Maps (by drawers):

  • World, Western Hemisphere, Africa and Asia
  • Europe, North America and Central America, Middle East. Atlantic and Pacific Oceans
  • France/Germany/Italy, British Isles, Saxton's Maps of England, England
  • Canada, China/Japan/Russia, United States
  • USA: East, Southeast, MidWest, New England, Southwest, West

Thematic Maps:

  • American Indian Affairs/Indian Reservations
  • Appalachian Trail
  • National Parks and Monuments
  • World in Braille
  • State counties
  • State Postal maps
  • U.S. National Atlas
  • Atlas of Historical Geography of the US and State Outline Maps (17" x 22")
  • United States Transportation
  • Railroad and Transportation of Individual States
  • Railroad
  • Airlines

  • Physiographic
  • Control Leveling Maps of the United States
  • Energy Transportation and Electrical Facilities
  • National Parks of Canada
  • Environmental Science
  • Nuclear News
  • Storm Evacuation Maps
  • Harbor Lines for San Francisco Bay; and Land Use, Coastal Zone, California
  • Sam Houston National Forest, Texas
  • Corn Belt Electric Cooperative Inc.
  • Air Photo Indexes
  • Colorado, New Mexico Bureau of Land Management

 

World Globes  (Three: two large globes near the Illinois Collection, and one smaller globe on top of the US Topo maps cases.)

World Political/Historical Maps: Canada, Central America, nautical collections (Historical USGS Harbor Charts)

World Political/Historical Maps: Europe, Asia, Middle East

World Political/Historical Maps: Middle East, Turkey, Iraq, Iran, India, Sri Lanka, China, Korea, Japan, Thailand, South East Asia, Africa

World Political/Historical Maps: Australia, World Outline Plotting Maps, New Zealand, Oceans, Pacific Area, Hawaii, Antarctica, Arctic

US State Geological Maps  (index in bottom drawer) ... to be moved to end of US States Collection.

Unlocalized: 

  • historiographs
  • literary maps
  • random maps
  • map making
  • large non-map materials
  • national flags
  • News Maps: World War II
  • Historical Battlefields
  • Canada: Military City maps
  • Soviet World Maps

USGS Map Folios (separate yellow case)

 

Other U.S. Topo and random maps: (separate case)

  • Indexes  (Topos, Landsat)
  • Satellite Images (selective)
  • Land Use and Cover Maps
  • USGS City Maps
  • Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands
  • US Topo Maps (1:250,000 and 1:1,000,000)
  • War Dept Strategic Maps
  • Raised Relief Maps
  • Wetland Surveys
  • 100 Maps with Physiographic Features

File cabinets: (far East section)

  • IL Chamber of Commerce by city/town
  • IL historical road maps
  • IL city plans (and selected other major cities)
  • International Travel Maps
  • British Ordnance Maps
  • Hiking, Biking and Canoeing Trails
  • International geologic publications
  • U.S. State Geologic publications
  • USGS Survey Geological Reports
     (planets, counties, states)
  • IL aerial photos

 

U.S. State Gazetteers: alphabetically arranged on top of the map cases beside the Oversize shelves.

US Governmant Documents maps: Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Energy, Forest Service, Park Service, HEW, HUD, Interstate Commerce Commission and Labor, State Department, Transportation, and Miscellaneous (Now housed in Fourth Floor workroom -- contact Documents Librarian, Angela Bonnell) 


Atlases are found in both the Oversize shelves (near the South stairwell, near Rooms 429a-c) and in the general shelves by call number; see G1000.3 - 3122 for atlases.  Below is a recent world atlas with physical, geological, and thematic materials: 

National Geographic global atlas : a comprehensive picture of today with more than 300 new maps, infographics, and illustrations. National Geographic Society (U.S.), 2014.  Call Number: G1021 .N3935 2013


The Library of Congress call number classifications for maps are as follows:

Subclass G

G1-922      Geography (General)
G65-69      Geographers
G70-70.6   Philosophy. Relation to other topics. Methodology
G80-99      History of geography
G100.5-108.5   Toponymy Including gazetteers, geographic names and terms
G140         Great cities of the world
G141         Historical geography
G142         Aerial geography
G149-180      Travel. Voyages and travels (General)
G154.9-155.8   Travel and state. Tourism
G200-336    History of discoveries, explorations, and travel
G369-503   Special voyages and travels
G521-539    Adventures, shipwrecks, buried treasure, etc.
G540-550   Seafaring life, ocean travel, etc.
G575-890   Arctic and Antarctic regions
G905-910   Tropics (General)
G912-922   Northern and Southern Hemispheres
G1000-3122   Atlases
G1000-1000.5   Atlases of the moon, planets, etc.
G1001-1046   World atlases. Atlases of the Earth
G1050-1052   Northern and Southern Hemispheres
G1053      Tropics. Torrid Zone
G1054-1055   Polar regions. Frigid Zone
G1059-1061   Maritime atlases (General)
G1100-3102    By region or country
G1100-1779   America. Western Hemisphere
G1105-1692   North America
G1110-1114      Greenland
G1115-(1193)   Canada
G1200-1534.24   United States
G1535-1537   Caribbean area
G1540-1542   Latin America (General)
G1545-1549   Mexico
G1550-(1594)   Central America
G1600-1692   West Indies
G1700-1779   South America
G1780-2799   Eastern Hemisphere. Eurasia, Africa, etc.
G1791-2196   Europe
G2110-2196   Former Soviet republics. Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (U.S.S.R.). Russia (Empire)
G2200-2444.84   Asia
G2445-2739   Africa
G2740-2799   Australasia
G2800-3064   Oceans (General)
G3100-3102   Antarctica
G3122      Atlases of imaginary, literary, and mythological regions, etc., A-Z
G3160-3171   Globes

Subject Guide

Vanette Schwartz's picture
Vanette Schwartz
Contact:
Milner Library 416
309-438-3486