Skip to main content

Teaching Materials Center: Websites for Teachers

Websites

General Teacher Resources

Education World
A directory of educational sources including resources for students, teachers, parents, and administrators. Includes links to topics such as distance education and special education

FirstGov for Kids
Links to Federal web sites for kids plus other organizational sites. Developed and maintained by Federal Citizen Information Center

Great Websites for Kids
Sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Chidren (ALSC - a division of the American Library Association), this website provides websites across all diciplines for children from birth to age 14.

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt's Education Place
Includes K-8 instructional materials and links to online projects, organized for Educators, Students, and Families. The links at the bottom of the box provide online content tied to HMH's curricular materials.

PBS LearningMedia™
"PBS LearningMedia™ is the go-to destination for instant access to tens of thousands of classroom-ready, digital resources including videos, games, audio clips, photos, lesson plans, and more! You can search, save, and share with ease. Best of all, PBS LearningMedia is free for educators." [from the site's homepage]

PBS Newshour Extra [for Educators]
Geared for Grades 7-12, this site supplements current events that are reported on the PBS Newshour nightly broadcast. Includes lesson plans, correlation to subject areas, videos and a section titled "Student Voices"

Teachers Helping Teachers
This site includes teaching tips, ideas for the classroom, and also links to many other subject sites for educators.

Teacher Vision
Sponsored by Pearson Educational Inc.'s Family Education Network, this website has lesson plans, reproducibles and a handy, monthly calendar noting what is happening on any given day!

Wilderness Classroom
A 12-year program that provides elementary and middle school kids with an appreciation of the wonders of exploration of the world in which we all live. Teachers and Kids Zone resources (top navigation bar) are especially user-friendly.

Art and Music

National Art Education Association
Founded in 1947, The National Art Education Association is the leading professional membership organization exclusively for visual arts educators. Browse their lesson plans for grade-specific art lessons and/or add your own!

Artists House Music's 25 Websites for Music Educators
Funded by the Herb Alpert Foundation, this compilation of websites by Stefani Langol, Assistant Professor of Music Education at Berklee College of Music, is comprehensive and contains her "best of the best" list.

Geography

National Geographic Education
National Geographic Education's mission includes two goals: 1) the promotion of geo-literacy and 2) educational outreach. This website includes interactive map-making tools, environmental literacy teaching guides, and other valuable resources/content.

Math and Science

GLOBE Program
Global Learning and Observations to Benefit the Environment (GLOBE) is a worldwide network of students, teachers, and scientists working together to study and understand the global environment.

Kids Act on Energy
Resources for kids, teachers, and parents, courtesy of Ameren Energy.

Math Forum
Interactive site for mathematics problems. Features "Ask Dr. Math" where students can pose tough, interesting mathematics problems. This site is divided into a Student Center, a Teacher's Place, the Research Division, and a section for Parents and Citizens.

National Inventors Hall of Fame
Provides searchable lists of information on inventors and inventions

National Science Digital Library
Wealth of (mostly free) information and resources for K-12 STEM education, this digital library acts as an "aggregator" for partner content. From their website: "Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access, although some resources are restricted to provider site membership, or may have a cost associated with them (indicated in the full record of the resource)."

Ocean Literacy
Content developed for K-12 educators by The Ocean Literacy Network, made up of teachers, scientists, educators, policy makers, and parents. They are committed to the idea of creating an ocean-literate society.

Physical Education and Nutrition

Let's Move
First Lady Michelle Obama's physical fitness and nutrition initiative

My Plate.gov
Loads of interactive tools for adults and students alike

Reading, Writing and Literature

ReadWriteThink
Free resources for teaching reading and the language arts; partners include the International Literacy Association, National Council of Teachers of English, and the Verizon Foundation

Social Studies

50 States & Capitals
Includes all of the essential information about the 50 states and related trivia

Asian American Experience
The "Education" section ("expand" the + sign for lesson plans and more) has instructional resources for the classroom including lesson plans, materials, bibliographies, AV resources and a virtual art gallery

Every American Financially Empowered
From the President's Council on Financial Capability, this report addresses financial literacy in our schools, homes and communities. A section of the report is devoted to K-12 education.

History of US
The History of US content developed at Johns Hopkins University is hosted on PBS and provides rich content for both teacher and students on United States history.

iCivics
Founded in 2009 by former Supreme Court Justice, Sandra Day O'Conner, "iCivics prepares young Americans to become knowledgeable, engaged 21st century citizens by creating free and innovative educational materials" that focus on student learning about governance in the United States.

Illinois State Government
The state government page for Illinois

Smithsonian Institution
Provides links to the Smithsonian's various museums with tours and slide shows of selected exhibits. Click on the tabs at the top for Educators and Kids to be directed to education-related content.

Teaching Tolerance
The Southern Poverty Law Center's Teaching Tolerance materials are free to educators. Since 2002, have sponsored National Mix It Up at Lunch Day to help students explore the issues of social boundaries.

Welcome to the White House
Find out what is on the President's daily schedule, meet the first family, take a tour, and sign the guest book. Inside the White House is a fun-filled facts area of the site.

 


 

TMC Librarian

Julie Derden
Contact:
Milner Library - 614C
309-438-3442