What's in the Guide
This guide is a starting point for students working on a Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies certificate or taking classes in this area. This guide will help with navigating the resources that Milner Library offers, including background information, books, databases, statistics, news, and conducting research on a range of WGSS topics.
To begin, the following sections of the guide will be helpful in learning to use the library catalog and other research tools available at Milner. Access these areas of the guide using the navigation menu.
Recommended Resources:
Find databases, journals, books, multimedia, and so forth for your research and studies.
How To:
Find links and videos that demonstrate how to use different functions of the Milner Library catalog and website, locate resources online and in the building, find books in your subject area, cite sources, and more.
Campus Resources:
Find links to various resources on campus to assist in your journey here at Illinois State University.
Overview Resources - Background Info
- CQ ResearcherFull text database providing reports on current, social, and controversial issues representing multi-faceted and opposing viewpoints. Reports include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, bibliography, graphics, photos, and short sidebar features.
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextFull text database providing essays from multiple perspectives about current, social, and controversial issues in a pro/con format. Also provides links to other related sources like journals, magazines, images, audio, video, and websites.
News & Primary Sources
- Access World NewsDigitized full text pdf replicas, many in full color, from a wide variety of local, national, and international news sources.
- New RepublicFull text articles of the The New Republic magazine. The collection includes issues from November 1914 through December 2010. Excellent source for 20th century progressive commentary and debate on American politics and government policy.
- New York Times (website)
Access full text articles and premium content on the New York Times website. Users are required to create a personal account. If prompted verify your Illinois State University affiliation. Firefox or Safari are recommended for signup. Consult these step by step instructions for more help. [Access Historical New York Times]
- New York Times, Historical (1851-2020)Full text historic database of the New York Times newspaper which covers international, national, and regional stories on a variety of topics. Includes issues published from 1851-2020. A new year is added annually. For the most current issues, create a free NYT website account via the Library catalog.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Women and Transnational NetworksA database of full text primary source documents such as serials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and multi-medium visuals. The focus is on issues that intersect gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century.
- Nineteenth Century Literature CriticismFull text literary criticism and critical essays focused on poets, novelists, short story writers, dramatists, and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. NewspapersFull text and image database of 19th century US newspapers with an emphasis on the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and Antebellum-era life.
