Article Databases
To search multiple databases at the same time, click on the "Articles" tab on the Milner website.
The sources listed below are good places to begin your research.
1. America History and Life.
The major index to articles from history journals on United States and Canadian history.
2 . Historical Abstracts is the major database for world history.
It contains references to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations.
3. Contemporary Women's Issues.
Provides online access to global information on women from journals, newsletters and research reports from
non-profit groups, governments and international agencies.
4. JSTOR
Full text database that contains several history journals, as well as journals in related social science areas.
Covers earlier years of selected journals, but usually does not include the most recent years.
5. Project Muse
Full text database containing articles from history, social science and humanities journals.
6. Humanities International Complete.
Covers archaeology, folklore, history, literature, philosophy, religion, etc.
7. SocINDEX.
Covers journals in political science, sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, etc.
8. Readers' Guide Abstracts. 1890 - present.
Covers popular periodicals and current social and political issues.
9. Dissertations and Theses.
Indexing for dissertations accepted at accredited universities since 1861; includes the full text of many dissertations and theses.
To Locate Journal Articles:
The Find It link is available in most databases.
Click on this link to access the full text of journal articles and to search for a journal in the Online Catalog.
If you have a complete citation for an article, use the Citation Finder.
Type in the journal title, year, volume and starting page, and click on SUBMIT.
To determine if a specific journal is available online through Milner Library, go to
Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Finder:
Type in the title of your journal and press Enter.
