Reference Sources
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryFull text multi-disciplinary database of reference books, encyclopedias, and handbooks.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium CollectionMulti-disciplinary compilation of reference sources and includes full text articles, definitions, and quotations. Limited to five simultaneous users.
- Sage KnowledgeIncludes ebooks and video covering all aspects of the social sciences such as education, media, communication, cultural studies, counseling, psychotherapy, business, management, politics, international relations, psychology, sociology, criminology, and criminal justice.
News Sources
- Nexis UniFull text database including United States and foreign news/newspapers, business information, company profiles, legal information, and reference sources. Also includes: news transcripts, federal cases, state cases, law reviews. 10 Minute Training Tips
- Newspaper SourceFull text news articles from select US and international newspapers and news broadcasts transcripts.
Finding Books
- Milner Catalog Advanced SearchSearch for books, media, music scores, dvds, and other materials
- I-Share Catalog Advanced SearchFind and request books and other sources from other Illinois Libraries.
To use Milner's catalog to find books, first click the Milner Catalog tab. To search with the most specificity, click on the Advanced Search link in the bottom right corner of the search box.
From the advanced search, you can search by keyword (looks for your words/phrase anywhere in the text), or subject (looks for words/phrases only when they appear in a book record's Topic section. This is a predefined list of words that help librarians summarize books). You can also look for different kinds of media by clicking on the dropdown list on the right (Material Type).
On the results page, you can decide whether you want print or electronic books (availability). This page will also show you whether books are available and where they are in the building or online.
Social Sciences Librarian
Please use the "Book Appointment" button above to make an appointment.