Alumni and Visitors Databases

Here are a few of the major government information resources readily available to the public.

• FactFinder  
  The go-to source for demographic information about the United States. It’s possible to browse or search for statistics by topic, geography, race and ethnic groups, or industry codes.

• FDsys (formerly GPO Access)
  Search for a broad range of U.S. government information. GPO Access includes the  Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, which is a searchable index of government information in print as well as electronic format.

• Fedstats 
  FedStats gathers statistics from more than 70 agencies United States Federal Government. “The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site to provide easy access to the full range of statistics and information.”

• FedWorld Information Network 
  From the Department of Congress, and managed by the National Technical Information Services (NTIS), FedWorld is a gateway to government information. It is a directory of government departments and information services.

• THOMAS (Library of Congress) Produced by the Library of Congress, Thomas offers full-text searching for bills and resolutions from 1989 to the current Congress, bill summary and status from 1973 to present, and full-text committee reports from 1995 to present. Also provides links to other government resources and information on the legislative process.

• U.S. Census Bureau 
  The Census Bureau should be the first stop for anyone looking for statistics on social, demographic or economic data on a national, state or local level.  Information is available from a variety of sources, including the decennial censuses from 1990 to 2010, the American Community Survey, and the Economic Census.

• USA.Gov
  Federal government website that provides the public with easy, one-stop access to all online U.S. Federal Government resources, including a search engine, directory by topic, and directory by department. Maintained by the  General Services Administration.