Welcome
This is a tab with specialized business resources for you and your project. Many if not all of the ICC projects require some kind of business plan or economic analysis. Here you can find tips on research, on compiling a business report, and on other business topics.
Feel free to email either business librarian, Danielle Futoran Turos (dmfutor@ilstu.edu) or contact the library reference desk for help or more questions.
Business and Marketing Plan
Reference Books Available at Milner
Marketing Plans by ISBN: 9780470669976Publication Date: 2011-03-21Now in its 7th edition, Marketing Plans is a highly renowned international bestseller.
The Successful Marketing Plan: How to Create Dynamic, Results Oriented Marketing, 4th Edition by ISBN: 9780071745574Publication Date: 2011-10-06The planning guide marketers have relied on for two decades--updated and expanded
Guides to Business Writing
Better Business Writing by ISBN: 9781422184035Publication Date: 2013-01-15This book gives you the tools you need to express your ideas clearly and persuasively so clients, colleagues, stakeholders, and partners will get behind them.
MBA Fundamentals Business Writing by ISBN: 9781427797179Publication Date: 2008-05-06This handy guide provides thorough, straightforward guidance on the writing issues you frequently encounter.
Business Writing for Dummies by ISBN: 9781119369004Publication Date: 2017-04-24The ability to write well is a key part of your professional success.
Business Research
Business Research
Researching similar businesses, their challenges, successes, and failures will give you great insight into planning for your business and any challenges you must face. In the resources below, you can search by company name or by keyword to find information on your market or your company (or comparable companies).
You can narrow the search results using the left sidebar in Business Source Complete and ABI/INFORM. Selecting appropriate dates, geography, publications, and subject will help get you the most relevant results.
- Business Source CompleteFull text database of business information including scholarly journals, books, author profiles, and company information.
- S & P Global NetAdvantageComprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to popular S&P research products such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, Mutual Fund Reports among others. Provides ability to access COMPUSTAT analytics and generate reports that include financials and ratios for individual companies, or comparative financials & ratios for top companies in an industry group.
Industry Research
Understanding the industry in which your company operates is essential to a healthy business or marketing plan. IBISWorld is one great resource for this; you can also search in the resources above (BSC, ABI, and S&P) for industry information or statistics.
- IBISWorldComprehensive full text industry research reports providing analysis and data on key statistics like supply/demand chain, market characteristics, product and customer segments, cost structure, industry conditions, key drivers, major players and market share, recent performance, and 5-year revenue forecasts.
Business Writing and Reference
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryFull text multi-disciplinary database of reference books, encyclopedias, and handbooks.
Business Style Handbook by Call Number: HF5718.3 .C86 2013ISBN: 9780071800105An A-to-Z guide for effective writing on the job.
