Skip to main content

Streaming Video for Social Foundations of Education: Home

Selected Streaming Video

Mickey Mouse Monopoly
The Disney Company's success is based on creating an image of innocence, magic and fun.  Mickey Mouse Monopoly takes a critical look at the world these films create and the stories they tell about race, gender and class and reaches disturbing conclusions about the values propagated under the guise of innocence and fun.

Our Spirits Don't Speak English: Indian Boarding School
This presents a Native American perspective on Indian Boarding Schools and uncovers the dark history of a U.S. Government policy which took Indian children from their homes, forced them into boarding schools and enacted a policy of educating them in the ways of Western Society.

Precious Knowledge
This is a 2011 political documentary centered on the banning of the Mexican American Studies Program in the Tucson Unified School District of Arizona. The film follows the lives of four students and several teachers in the Mexican American Studies program at Tucson High School. It follows the progression of local legislature put in place in order to ban Mexican American Studies programs.

Race: The Power of an Illusion
We all know that people look different. Anyone can tell a Czech from a Chinese. But are these differences racial? What does race mean? This question is explored in this video.  For additional information see the PBS website Race: The Power of an Illusion

The Line
A young woman is raped when a one-night stand goes terribly wrong. In the aftermath, as she struggles to make sense of what happened, she decides to make a film about the relationship between her own experience and the tangle of political, legal, and cultural questions that surround issues of sex and consent.

Alexander Street Press Online Resources

Black Thought and Culture
An electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders covering 250 years of history. It includes the words of Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Paul Robeson, Booker T. Washington, Malcolm X, Marcus Garvey, Sammy Davis, Jr., Ida B. Wells, Nikki Giovanni, Mary McLeod Bethune, Carl Rowan, Roy Wilkens, James Weldon Johnson, Audre Lorde, Thurgood Marshall, A. Philip Randolph, Constance Baker Motley, Walter F. White, Amiri Baraka, Ralph Ellison, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Jesse Jackson, Bobby Seale, Gwendolyn Brooks, Huey P. Newton, James Baldwin, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Randall Kennedy, Cornel West, Nelson George, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Bayard Rustin, and hundreds of other notable people.

http://alexanderstreet.com/sites/default/files/misc/IBIObutton.jpg
Contains over 119,000 pages of text and images. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.

Black Drama Second Edition
Contains the full text of more than 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.

North American Indian Drama
Brings together at completion 240 full text plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century. The collection begins in the early 1930s with The Cherokee Night and other works by R. Lynn Riggs, the first American Indian playwright to have his works produced. It progresses through the 20th century with plays produced by the Native American Theatre Ensemble (NATE) and other companies of the 1970s and 1980s, including Spiderwoman Theater, the longest continually running Native American or women’s theatre group in North America.

Asian American Drama
Brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga.

Latino Literature
Includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Chicano coverage is substantial, beginning with the works of those in the Southwest who became citizens of the U.S. suddenly, after Mexico reluctantly gave up fifty per cent of its territories in 1848. There are the early Chicano writers, who created a distinctive literature in the 19th century, literary figures from the Chicano Renaissance, and contemporary authors.

http://alexanderstreet.com/sites/default/files/misc/WASMbutton.jpg
Brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life.

Ethnographic Video Online     Volume 1

Contains more than 500 hours of classic and contemporary documentaries. Global in scope, Ethnographic Video Online contains footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures, and is particularly rich in its coverage of the developing world.