Skip to main content

EndNote Online

EndNote Online is a web-based program that allows you to organize your sources (articles, books, images, etc.), cite the sources while you write a paper, and prepare bibliographies.

Manage, Organzie, and Share Sources

EndNote Online provides a variety of ways to manage and organize your sources. This includes sharing, eliminating duplicate records, and working with pdf attachments.

Creating Groups

  1. Click the Organize tab which will display the Manage My Groups page.
  2. Click the New Group button in the My Groups table.
  3. Enter a name in the textbox provided.
  4. Click the OK button.

Renaming Groups

  1. Click the Organize tab which will display the Manage Groups page.
  2. Click the Rename button for the group you wish to rename.
  3. Enter a new name in the textbox provided.
  4. Click the OK button.

Deleting Groups

  1. Click the Organize tab which will display the Manage My Groups page.
  2. Click the Delete button for the group you wish to delete.
  3. Click OK in the confirmation dialog.
    Note: When a personal group is deleted, its references are still available in the All My References list.

You can check your library for duplicates at any time.

  1. Click Organize tab
  2. Click Find Duplicates in the secondary navigation
  3. Any reference identified as a duplicate will have a yellow background.
  4. Check the 'Duplicates' checkbox to check all references with the yellow background to delete those references, move them or copy them to your Quick List.

When using Find Duplicates, EndNote Online compares references based on the following fields:

  • Author
  • Year
  • Title
  • Reference Type

 

Attaching Files to a Reference

From a list of references

  1. Click the file attachment button under the specific record to open the File Attachments popup
  2. Click the Attach Files link
  3. Click the Browse button in the dialog box to find and attach the file

Within the source record

  1. Click Attach files
  2. The Upload Files window allows you to upload up to five files at a time.
  3. Click Browse to find the file you want to upload
  4. When you have selected the file(s), click Upload
    Note: If a file is no longer attached to a reference, this dialog will prompt you to reattach the file.

Managing File Attachments

  1. Select Manage Attachments under the Organize tab
  2. Click the file attachment button to open the File Attachments window
  3. Delete file attachments if desired
    Note: If you delete a file attachment from a reference that you transferred from EndNote X5, you must also delete the attachment from EndNote X5. Otherwise, the attachment will reappear the next time you perform a transfer.

File Attachment Limits

  • There is no restriction to the size of a file attached to a reference. However, the total amount of space allotted to file attachments is 1GB.
  • If you subscribe to EndNote Online and have EndNote Desktop X5 or later, you may attach an unlimited number of files to a reference.
  • If you subscribe to EndNote Online and you have EndNote Desktop X2 - X4, you may view the names of files attached to a reference that you transferred from EndNote Desktop to EndNote Online. However, you cannot open the files or attach new files in EndNote Online.
  • You may transfer file attachments between EndNote X5 or later and EndNote Online.

Sharing Groups

  1. Click the Organize tab which will display the Manage My Groups page.
  2. Find the group you wish to share and check the Share checkbox.
  3. Click the Manage Sharing button.
  4. Enter up to 1,000 e-mail addresses separating each address by pressing the Enter or Return key.
    Other option: use the Browse button to upload a text file containing e-mail addresses separated by commas
  5. Select the Read only or Read & Write access option.
  6. Click the Apply button.
  7. Repeat steps 4-6 to add users with a different access option.

Unsharing Groups

  1. Click the Organize tab which will display the Manage My Groups page.
  2. Find the group you wish to unshare and uncheck the Share checkbox.

Modify Users of a Shared Group

  1. Click the Organize tab which will display the Manage My Groups page.
  2. Find the group you wish to modify.
  3. Click the Manage Sharing button.
  4. You can then delete users, select edit to modify a user's email address, change a user's access option, add more users, and delete all users.

Hiding Groups Shared from Others

  1. Click the Organize tab, then click the Others' Groups link.
  2. Uncheck the group you wish to hide.
    Note: Groups shared to you do not count against your 500 personal group limit.

Using Cite While You Write with Shared Groups

  1. Click the Organize tab, then click the Others' Groups link.
  2. Check the shared group you would like to be available for Cite While You Write.
Loading ...