Skip to main content

EndNote Online: Custom Bibliographies

EndNote Online is a web-based program that allows you to organize your sources (articles, books, images, etc.), cite the sources while you write a paper, and prepare bibliographies.

In this section...

In-text Citing & Bibliographies

Word Plug-in - Cite While You Write

Custom Bibliographies

-----------

Video: CWYW: Formatting the Bibliography

-----------

Other Word Processors: At this time, EndNote Online is not compatible with OpenOffice or Mac Page.

Custom Bibliographies

Using EndNote Online, you can create a custom bibliography without using a word processor. This works particularly well for annotated bibliographies or when you need to quickly generate a tenative source list.

Generating a List of Sources

  1. From the Format tab, click the Bibliography link
  2. In the References drop-down menu, select a reference group
  3. In the Bibliographic style drop-down menu, select a citation style
    • Use the Select Favorits link to create a short list of the styles you use most often
    • Select the Annotated style, to generate an annotated bibliography
  4. In the File format drop-down menu, select a document format
  5. Click the Save, E-mail, or Preview & Print button

Creating an Annotated Bibliography

  1. If you haven't already done so, add the sources to a group
  2. For each source, add the annotation to the Abstract field within the individual records
  3. From the Format tab, click the Bibliography link
  4. In the References drop-down menu, select the designated group
  5. In the Bibliographic style drop-down menu, select the Annotated style
  6. In the File format drop-down menu, select a document format
  7. Click the Save, E-mail, or Preview & Print button

Business and Economics Librarian

Joe Zumalt's picture
Joe Zumalt
Contact:
419 Milner Library
309-438-3355