Skip to main content

Multimedia: Streaming Video Resources

Streaming Video Titles

Streaming Video Titles


Milner Library has a growing collection of individual streaming video titles as well as streaming video databases.

Streaming Video Databases: Subject-Specific

Subject-specific Streaming Video Databases
 
American History in Video coverage includes videos about the early history of Native Americans to the New Deal and the Civil War and more. Contains movies about historical figures such as Danial Boone and Helen Thomas. Movies come from partners such as PBS, History Channel and others. Includes newsreels. This collection includes over 6000 titles.
 
Classical Music in Video
The collection includes performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances as well as chamber music, oratoria and solo performances. Includes masterclasses and interviews of master teachers from around the world. Musical time periods included in the collection range from medieval to the present. Performances from the 1950s to the present are included. This growing collection currently includes 732 works, of 411 hours.
 
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video
This resource includes hundreds of hours of video for professionals and students in criminal justice and public safety. Documentaries and interviews provide personal field experiences as well as insight into the function and controversies of the justice system. It also includes training videos that demonstrate how to respond to potentially-dangerous situations.
 
Dance in Video 
Contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Currently has nearly 200 hours of performances.

 

Ethographic Video Online, Volume 1
Contains videos for the study of human culture and behavior. Thematic areas include family and race, material culture, marriage, gender, family roles and more. This growing collection currently includes 1097 videos.

 

 
Ethographic Video Online, Volume 2
Expanding on the first volume of this video series of Alexander Street's anthropology offerings, it adds 500 hours of classic and contemporary documentaries, field recordings, and previously unpublished footage from renowned anthropological archives.
 
Nursing Education in Video
This unique collection contains videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses and other healthcare workers. All the videos were created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board. This growing collection currently includes more than 298 videos on a variety of topics such as anatomy and physiology, pediatrics and basic clinical skills.
 
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video
This collection includes videos in the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, and more. Developed through an exclusive partnership with Healthy Learning, the world's leading producer of sports medicine videos, the videos feature physicians, exerise scientists, athletic trainers and more sharing information on principles and techniques of modern exercise science and sports medicine. This growing collection currently includes more than 270 videos.
 
Theatre in Video 
Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Includes the Complete Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare series that aired on British Broadcasting Company.

Featured Database: Docuseek2

Docuseek2 Essential video
for higher ed

Streaming Video Databases: General

General Streaming Video Databases
 
Annenberg CPB 
Educational video programs with accompanying Web and print materials. The collection is intended to help teachers increase their expertise in the subjects they teach and the teaching methods they use. Many programs in the collection are also intended for classroom use.
 

Docuseek2

Over 600 streaming videos of independent documentaries, social issue, and educational videos. Includes titles from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Collective Eye Films, and others.

 

 
Filmakers Library Online, Volume 1
This video resource provides award-winning documentaries across a variety of subjects - race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
 
Illinois State University History Digital Collection 
Illinois State University History is a digital collection that includes campus history books, proceedings of the first university governing board, and photographs of campus activities and buildings.
 
Kanopy Video
Kanopy Video provides access to nearly 20,000 online streaming educational videos and feature films. Many subjects covered but particular strengths include race and gender studies, communication, education, sociology, psychology, health sciences, and the arts. Includes films from Criterion, Kino Lorber EDU, First Run Features, California Newsreel, and PBS. Create an account to make custom playlists and video clips.
 
March of Time
The films in this collection, produced from 1935 to 1967 and shown in theaters until 1951, are from the renowned March of Time series produced by Time, Inc. The collection includes both the "issues" (newsreels) and the "films" (non-newsreels) which cover an eclectic range of topics. Topics include racism, poverty and more. Included in the content are episodes such as Atomic Power, Inside Nazi Germany and the Supreme Court. This collection is complete and contains 434 video titles.
 
Media Education Foundation Collection
This collection includes over 140 films from the Media Education Foundation, whose films ask viewers to think critically about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. Topics covered include but are not limited to gender, commercialism, race, politics, and health.