Skip to main content

RefWorks at Milner Library: Nursing & Health Sciences Databases

RefWorks is an online research management tool designed to help researchers (at all levels) easily gather, organize, store, share, and cite sources.

Adding Sources from Nursing & Health Sciences Databases

Exporting References from PubMed

1. Conduct your search in PubMed.

2. Check the boxes next to the records you wish to export.

3. Click on Send To near the top right of the screen.

4. Under Choose Destination select Citation Manager.

5. Click the Create File button. 

6. Save the file on your computer or locate it in the downloads folder. 

7. Log into your RefWorks account. 

8. In RefWorks, click on References in the toolbar and select Import.

9. Under Import Filter/Data Source select NLM PubMed.

10. Click Choose File. Then, locate and select the file you saved or find it in your downloads folder. 

11. Click Import. Your references will appear in the Last Imported folder.

12. Move the references from Last Imported to an existing or new folder.

Exporting References from CINAHL

1. Conduct your search in CINAHL. 

2. Click the folder near the right of each record you wish to export. 

3. Click on the folder near the top of the screen in the blue menu bar. 

4. Click Select All. Then, click Export

5. Click Direct Export to RefWorks and Save.

6. Log into your RefWorks account. 

7. Your references will appear in the Last Imported folder.

8. Move the references from Last Imported to an existing or new folder.

Exporting References from Joanna Briggs EBP Database

1. Conduct your search in the Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database.

2. Check the box next to the records you wish to export.

3.  Click on Export in the white toolbar above your list of search results.

4. Select RIS from the dropdown menu.  Use Select Fields to Display to choose the citation or the citation and abstract.  Make sure that the only option checked under the Include menu is Include URL.

5. Click on Export Citation(s).

6. Save the file on your computer or locate it in the downloads folder. 

7. Log into your RefWorks account. 

8. In RefWorks, click on References in the toolbar and select Import

9. Under Import Filter/Data Source select RIS Format and under Database select RIS Format.

10. Click Choose FileThen, locate and select the file you saved or find it in your downloads folder. 

11. Click Import. Your references will appear in the Last Imported folder.

12. Move the references from Last Imported to an existing or new folder.

 

Exporting References from Cochrane Library

1. Conduct your search in Cochrane Library

2. Check the box next to the records you wish to export to RefWorks. Note the Cochrane database (for step 8 below). The database name will be displayed above the list of search results  

3. Click on Export Selected found on the left below the end of the results list.

4. For Export Type, select the type of computer you are using and choose your preferred file type. Then click Export Citation.

5. Save the file on your computer or locate it in the downloads folder. 

6. Log into your RefWorks account.

7. In RefWorks, click on References in the toolbar and select Import.

8. Select Cochrane Library from the top dropdown menu and the database you noted in step 2 from the second dropdown menu.

9. Click Choose File. Then, locate and select the file you saved or find it in your downloads folder. 

11. Click Import. Your references will appear in the Last Imported folder.

12. Move the references from Last Imported to an existing or new folder.

Loading

Contact a Milner Librarian

Milner Librarians
Contact:
309-438-3451