Skip to main content

Student Counseling Services: Home

Locating Journal Articles

To check availability of a specific journal in print or online . . .

Use the Online Journals link available in the Research & Catalog shortcuts on the library homepage. This feature provides links to online subscription access to journals and links to search the Milner Catalog for the location of print copies.

To locate an article when you already have a citation . . .

Use the Search across all library resources service.  Type the title of the article within quotation marks, and use the drop box to select "TI Title". After retrieving the citation, you can use the "Find It" button.

Or, use the Citation Linker feature.  Enter information in the four required fields (denoted by red stars).

To obtain an article not owned by Milner . . .
Use the Interlibrary Loan service.  There is no charge for this, but you should allow five working days.  You can choose to have articles delivered to you in an electronic format, which is actually the default.

To obtain an electronic copy of an article Milner owns in print only . . .
Faculty and Graduate Students may use our Fee-Based Electronic Document Delivery Service.  There is a $3.00 charge for scanning and e-mailing each article.  This service also requires the use of our Interlibrary Loan form--simply indicate in the notes field that you are willing to pay $3.00.  For more information, click here.

To locate articles on a topic or by a known author . . .
Search one or more article databases in psychology. See a list of recommended databases below.

Relevant Databases

PsycINFO
The first choice database in psychology. Covers journal articles, book reviews, dissertations in psychology and related fields.  Coverage dates from 1806 to present.  Provides citations and abstracts as well as full-text of articles published in American Psychological Association journals.
Search Now

Combined Search of Academic Search Complete & Education Full Text
Academic Search Complete is a
scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing full text for more than 7,100 publications, including over 6,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 11,200 journals and other publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Education Full Text provides the full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983.

Search Now

Web of Science
An index to articles from peer-reviewed scholarly journals in all disciplines, including more than 450 psychology journals.  Journals included in Web of Science are generally considered among the most prominent and influential in their fields.  Web of Science is also the first-choice source when seeking articles that that have cited other articles.  
Search Now

PsycCRITIQUES
Provides reviews of psychology books and films. Sponsored by the American Psychological Association.
Search Now

PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)
“Index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.” [database]  Produced by the National Center for PTSD, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, and freely available. 
Search Now

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Combined online versions of Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print.  Provides test reviews from the 9th to 17th editions of Mental Measurements Yearbook.  Provides directory information (without reviews) from Tests in Print.   
Search Now

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Provides citations to journal articles about non-commercial test instruments in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Sponsored by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, which offers test instrument delivery (tests are free, delivery charges apply) and assistance searching and selecting test instruments (a free service).
Search Now

Sociological Abstracts
Indexes articles in more than 1,900 journals, book abstracts and review citations in sociology and related fields. 1963 to present. Updated five times per year. Provides citations, abstracts.
Search Now

ERIC
Especially useful for finding articles in educational and school psychology. Covers research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education. 1966 to present. Updated monthly. Provides citations, abstracts, full text of some documents.  Milner Library subscribes to three versions of ERIC.  Citations in all three are the same.  Search screens differ.  
Search ERIC (Ovid) Now       
Search ERIC (EBSCO) Now

PubMed
Especially useful for finding articles in clinical/counseling psychology, biological psychology, and psychiatry. PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
Search Now


Locating Books at Milner Library

Use the Milner Catalog to search for materials owned by Milner.

Use the Request Item function in Milner Catalog records to request that materials be retrieved from the Milner shelves and held for you at the main circulation desk. Please allow 24 hours for this service. 

Some materials are located in storage facilities inaccessible to library patrons. Use the Request Item function in Milner Catalog records to request retrieval of these materials. Storage Basement materials are retrieved throughout the day and are generally available at the circulation desk in the lobby within 90 minutes of a request. Storage North materials are retrieved on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.  You will receive an email from us when requested storage materials are available for you.   

Use the I-Share Catalog to search for materials owned by all libraries in our consortium.  Use the Request feature to order books from other libraries.  You will need to Create an Account to take advantage of this service.  Remember that the password you set up will NOT change.


Below are some selected "canned" searches by subject heading.  These searches are limited to Milner Library, but you can use the drop box to change "Local Catalot Only" to "All I-Share Libraries."

behavior therapy

cognitive therapy

college students alcohol use

college students mental health

college students psychology

college students sexual behavior

college students substance abuse

college students suicidal behavior

counseling in higher education

dialectical behavior therapy

existential psychotherapy

focused expressive psychotherapy

group cognitive therapy

psychotherapy methods

schema-focused cognitive therapy

sports psychological aspects

Emotions and Social Behavior Series

Theories of Psychotherapy Series

Selected Reference Books

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-V)
Floor 5 Shelves RC 455.2 .C4 D536 2013
Available online (students, faculty and staff only)

Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy (2007)
Available online (students, faculty and staff only)

Encyclopedia of Counseling (2008)
Available online (students, faculty and staff only)

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology (2006)
Available online (students, faculty and staff only)

Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery (2009)
Available online (students, faculty and staff only)

Handbook of Multicultural Counseling Competencies (2010)
Available online (students, faculty and staff only)