Skip to main content

Education: Scholarship of Teaching and Learning: Home

Core SoTL Journals

This list was designed primarily for Illinois State University professors.  Titles link to Milner's full-text service or to the online record when possible.  If the journal is not available via Milner, no link is included.  Please feel free to comment, suggest additional titles, or to report any mistakes. 

Academic Commons (Online Journal)

Academic Exchange Quarterly
Journal Web Page
Submission Guidelines

Active Learning in Higher Education
Journal Web Page
Note: Although you can search the contents, full text is not available.

Assessment Update
Journal Web Page

Canadian Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
Journal Web Page

Change: The Magazine of Higher Learning
Journal Web Page

*College Teaching
Journal Web Page

Creative College Teaching Journal
Journal Web Page

Currents in Teaching and Learning
(Online Journal)

Deliberations (Web Site)

F-LIGHT (E-newsletter from the TLT Group)

Higher Education Research and Development
Journal Web Page
Instructions for Authors

*Innovative Higher Education
Journal Web Page

*Insight: A Journal of Scholarly Teaching
(Online Journal)

Interdisciplinary Journal of Problem-based Learning (IJPBL)
(Online Journal)

International Journal for Academic Development

Journal Web Page
Instructions for Authors

*International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (Online Journal)

*International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (Online Journal)

Inventio: Creative Thinking About Teaching and Learning
(Online Journal)

Journal for the Art of Teaching
Journal Web Page

Journal of Cognitive and Affective Learning (JCAL)
(Online Journal)

Journal of Effective Teaching
(Online Journal

Journal of Faculty Development
Journal Web Page

Journal of Graduate and Professional Student Development
Journal Web Page

*Journal of Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
(Online Journal)

Journal of Student Centered Learning
Journal Web Page

Journal of Teaching and Learning
Journal Web Page

Journal of University Teaching and Learning Practice (JUTLP)
(Online Journal)

Journal on Excellence in College Teaching 
Journal Web Page

LATISS - Learning and Teaching in the Social Sciences
Journal Web Page 

Learning and Instruction
Journal Web Page

Learning and Teaching in Higher Education (LATHE)
(Online Journal)

Learning Inquiry
Journal Web Page

Michigan Journal of Community Service Learning
(Online Journal)

*MountainRise
(Online Journal)

National Teaching and Learning Forum (NTLF)
Journal Web Page

Practice and Evidence of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education
(Online Journal)

Reaching Through Teaching
(Online Journal)

Teaching in Higher Education
Journal Web Page
Instructions for Authors

Teaching Professor
Journal Web Page

To Improve the Academy
Journal Web Page
Call for Manuscripts

Transformative Dialogues: Teaching and Learning Journal
(Online Journal)

Core SoTL Journals

This website was developed primarily for Illinois State University Faculty.  The journal titles are linked to either Milner's full text locator or to the catalog record when Milner provides access.  Titles with an * are those which are considered among the most influential.  Comments, suggestions for additions, and reports of errors are welcome. 

Academic Commons  (Online Journal)

Academic Exchange Quarterly
Journal Web Page  (current issue available full text online)

Active Learning in Higher Education
Journal Web Page
Note: Although you can search the contents, full text is not available.
Search in the Academic Search Premier database (no full text available)

Assessment Update
Journal Web Page
Search in the Academic Search Premier database

Canadian Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (Online Journal)

Change: The Magazine of Higher Learning
Journal Web Page
Search in the ERIC database

* College Teaching 
Journal Web Page
Search in the ERIC database

Currents in Teaching and Learning (Online Journal)

Deliberations  (Web Site)

Higher Education Studies (Online Journal)

Higher Education Research and Development
Journal Web Page
Search in the ERIC database

*Innovative Higher Education
Journal Web Page
Search in the Academic Search Premier database

InSight  (Online Journal)

Interdisciplinary Journal of Problem-based Learning (IJPBL) (Online Journal) 

International Journal for Academic Development
Journal Web Page
Search in the Academic Search Premier database (most recent year not available full text)

International HETL Review (online journal)
(International Higher Education Teaching and Learning Portal)

*International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (Online Journal)

*International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education  (Online Journal)

Journal of Effective Teaching (Online Journal)

Journal of Faculty Development
Journal Web Page
Searching using the ERIC database (no full text available)

*Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (Online Journal)
Search using the ERIC database

Journal of Teaching and Learning (Online Journal)

Journal of University Teaching and Learning Practice (JUTLP) (Online Journal)
Search starting 2009 in the ERIC database

*Journal on Excellence in College Teaching
Journal Web Page

LATISS - Learning and Teaching in the Social Sciences
Journal Web Page 

Learning and Instruction
Journal Web Page

Learning Inquiry
Journal Web Page
Search using the ERIC database (no full text)

Michigan Journal of Community Service Learning (Online Journal)
Searching using the ERIC database

*MountainRise (Online Journal)

National Teaching and Learning FORUM (NTLF)
Journal Web Page

New Directions for Teaching and Learning
Journal Web Page
Search using the Academic Search Premier database

Perspectives on Undergraduate Research and Mentoring (PURM) (Online Journal)

Practice and Evidence of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education  (Online Journal)

Studies in Graduate and Professional Student Development (formerly Journal of Graduate Teaching Assistant Development)
Journal Web Page

Teaching and Learning Inquiry: The ISSOTL Journal
Journal Web Page

Teaching in Higher Education
Journal Web Page
Search using the ERIC database (most recent year not available full text)

Teaching Professor
Journal Web Page
Search using the Academic Search Premier database (full text available from 2004 until 2006)

To Improve the Academy
Journal Web Page

Transformative Dialogues: Teaching and Learning Journal (Online Journal)


Education and Psychology Librarian

Sarah French's picture
Sarah French
Contact:
Milner Library 614D

309-438-7188