Skip to main content

Federal Statistics, state level: Compendia

This is a guide to help users locate current demographic data for states. It specifically focuses on census data and other information from the United States federal government.

Statistical Abstract

 

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is produced annually by the Commerce Department's Census Bureau. It presents the most recent data on the social, political, and economic information in the United States. Tables compiled within cite sources of statistical data (look at bottom of each table to find originating source). Some tables include historic data. Also includes selected international data.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition (ISU only)

Historical Statistics of the United States is a detailed, five-volume statistical resource produced in part by the Census Bureau and provides a statistical history of U.S. social, economic, political, and geographic development during periods from 1610 to the present. Accompanying text cites sources, defines technical terms, and includes discussion of methodology, qualifications, and reliability of the data. Also includes a time-period index indicating which time series begin within specified 10- or 20-year time segments and a detailed alphabetical subject index.

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book

The State and Metropolitan Area Data Book contains similar information as in the Statistical Abstract and County and City Data Book, but focuses on the local areas -- States, metropolitan areas, and micropolitan areas of the United States. Link to the 116-page pdf for state tables.

The Data Book includes a selection of data from statistical publications and electronic sources, both government and private. Although emphasis is primarily given to state and metropolitan area data, U.S. totals and data for component counties and central cities are also provided.

This edition of the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book features more than 1,500 data items for the United States and individual states, counties and metropolitan areas from a variety of sources. Topics include age, agriculture, births, business establishments, communications, construction, cost of living, crime, deaths, education, elections, employment, energy, finance, government, health and households.

County and City Data Book

The County and City Data Book is the most comprehensive source of information about the individual counties and cities in the United States. It includes data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. It contains additional data for places with a population of 100,000 or more. Also included is a complete set of state maps showing all counties, places of 25,000 or more population, and metropolitan areas. Link to the 15-page pdf to state tables.

Information in the County and City Data Book covers the following topical areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments, climate, construction, crime, deaths, earnings, education, elections, employment, finance, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, social services, and water use.