Skip to main content

Transitioning Paraprofessionals into Teachers of English Learners (TPTEL) : TPTEL Home

Children's Literature Databases

  • NoveList Plus
    NoveList Plus can help you find children's books on a topic. Try searching for a specific country, or even a broad search like MULTICULTURALISM. You can limit to age categories, and see lists of recommended reading, award winners, and curricular connections. A readability scale (Lexile) is included for most titles.

Best Books Lists

To locate what libraries own the books identified in the following lists, use WorldCat.  You can also try using I-Share (a shared catalog for academic libraries in Illinois), but some academic libraries will not send children's books via interlibrary loan.

Articles Databases

  • Education Full Text
    Provides full-text of articles from as far back as 1996 and indexes over 750 journals back to 1983. With in-depth coverage of special education and cross-references for over 100,000 educational tests, this database also provides emphases on adult education, multicultural education and teaching methods.
  • Professional Development Collection (EBSCO interface)
    Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals.
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO interface)
    A large, interdisciplinary databaseIf you are looking for a very specific term, you might want to use the drop box to search "all text."  Remember, however, that Academic Search Premier can only search the full text of certain journals that it has full text rights to.  Since it does have rights to many education  journals, this can be a very powerful search.  It can also result in a large number of "false drops" if the term you type in is one that is commonly used.
  • Combined search of ERIC, Education Abstracts, Professional Development Collection, and Academic Search Complete
    Although ERIC is the only database that shows, if you click on "Show all," you can see the others. Remember that these databases do not use the same subject headings, so you will need to rely primarily on key word searching.

  • Search across all library resources (advanced search)
    This service searches across most of the databases Milner subscribes to as well as the Online Catalog (for books).  It works best when using specific terminology.  For topics that are interdisciplinary, it can be very useful.  However, it may retrieve enormous sets and will include more items not owned by Milner than the other databases listed above.

Searching for Books


I-Share  This is the catalog for the consortium of academic libraries in Illinois. A major advantage is that you can directly order books and have them delivered to an academic library close to you.  One caveat is that some I-Share libraries won't lend children's books.

 

WorldCat. This is the shared catalog of most libraries in the United States (and beyond).  You will be able to tell if public libraries in your area own a particular book that you are looking for.

 

Teaching Materials Librarian

Julie Derden's picture
Julie Derden
Contact:
Milner Library - 614C
309-438-3442