Skip to Main Content

America's Promise (Nursing)

This page contains nonbook items in the following categories:

Dental Hygiene

 

Dental Model

 Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials

Call Number: TMCNonbook 617.6 TWI 

Summary: Twice life sized, fully flossible dentition, great for in the classroom or at the office. Gingival crevices and contacts for demonstration. Upper & lower sections connected with a clear urethane hinge.

 

Smoker's Foul Mouth

 Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCNonbook 617.6 SM

  

     Summary: Shows the harmful effects of smoking to the mouth including gum disease, tooth decay and lip cancer. It includes two removable tongues. One depicts hairy tongue, and the other leukoplakia (white spots) and tongue cancer.

Mr. Clean Mouth

 Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCNonbook 617.6 MR

  

     Summary: Soft BIOLIKE 2 tongue provides added realism. The base includes information about the importance of good oral care. Mounted on wood base and comes with giant toothbrush.

Al E. Gator puppet

 Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCNonbook 617.6 ALE 

  

     Summary: Includes 1 velcro removable tongue, and 1 oversized toothbrush. Designed to help dental practitioners and dental school students teach young patients how to take care of their teeth.

            Image Source: www.supplyclinic.com     

Mojo Monkey

 Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCNonbook 617.6 MOJ 

 

  Summary: Includes 1 dentition set (attached to mouth), and 1 toothbrush. Designed to help dental practitioners and dental school students teach young patients how to take care of their teeth.

        Image Source:www.supplyclinic.com

Finn Z. Fish puppet

 Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCNonbook 617.6 FIN 

 

  Summary: Includes 1 dentition set (attached to mouth), and 1 toothbrush. Designed to help dental practitioners and dental school students teach young patients how to take care of their teeth.

Easy 5 pack puppets

 Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCNonbook 617.6 EAS 

 

  Summary: Each puppet includes one demonstration toothbrush. 1/2 life-size durable dentition with our flossible.

  Image Source: www.kidstartsupply.com

 

Anatomy of Teeth

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCGraphic 617.6 ANA

Summary: poster Illustrating the anatomy of human teeth.

 

Image Source: https://www.shopanatomical.com/Anatomy_of_the_Teeth_Anatomical_Chart_p/acc-1000.htm

Health and Nutrition

1 great plate cut-outs

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCGraphic 613.2 ONE

 

Summary: Set of twenty 9 inch die-cut cardstock plates feature four different luncheon-sized plates with healthy food choices divided into 1/2 fruits and vegetables, 1/4 whole grains, and 1/4 lean protein.     Image Source: https://getvisualz.com

Magnetic healthy foods

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCNonbook 613.2 MAG

  

     Summary: Includes 1 write-on/write-off magnetic placemat, 33 magnetic pieces, 1 order pad, 1 activity guide.

                    Image Source: www.healthedco.com

1 great plate magnets

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCGraphic 613.2 ONE

 

Summary: 1 set of 10 identical circular magnets.

     Image Source: https://getvisualz.com

Vegetable faux food kit

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials

Call Number: TMCNonbook 613.2 VEG

  

     Summary: Food models include: baked potato, broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, corn, green beans, tomato juice. Set of seven faux foods comes with food cards containing nutritional information for each food.

                Image Source: www.healthedco.com

 

Fruit faux food kit

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials

Call Number: TMCNonbook 613.2 FRU

  

     Summary: Food models include: apple, banana, green grapes, orange juice, grapefruit, raisins, strawberries. Set of seven faux foods comes with food cards containing nutritional information for each food.

             Image Source: www.healthedco.com

Visualize your portion size display

 Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCNonbook 613.2 VIS 

  

     Summary: Teaches portion awareness by relating actual serving sizes to everyday objects.

Image Source: www.healthedco.com

        

Fat facts : saturated and unsaturated test tubes

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials

Call Number: TMCNonbook 613.2 FATs 

     Summary:  A visual representation of the fat content in 10 food items, including: Butter, Soft Margarine, Cooked Sirloin Steak, Cooked Chicken Breast, Roasted Peanuts, Corn Chips, Cheddar Cheese, Croissant, Premium Ice Cream, and Chocolate Candy Bar.

 

Fat facts : fast foods test tubes

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials

Call Number: TMCNonbook 613.2 FATf

Summary: A visual representation of the fat content in 10 food items, including: French Fries, Hamburger, Double Cheeseburger, Taco, Chicken Nuggets (5), Pepperoni Pizza Slice, Hot Dog, Grilled Chicken Sandwich, Breakfast Burrito, Fried Chicken Breast.

Fat facts : snack foods test tubes

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials

Call Number: TMCNonbook 613.2 FATsf

Summary:A visual representation of the fat content in 10 food items, including: Oatmeal Raisin Cookie, Peanut Butter Cups (2), Fudge Brownie, Apple (medium), Fruit Roll-Up, Pudding Cup, Popcorn (2 cups popped), String Cheese (1 stick), Trail Mix (1/2 cup), Ice Cream Sandwich.

  Image Source: www.healthedco.com

Fat facts : vending machine foods test tubes

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials

Call Number: TMCNonbook 613.2 FATv

Summary: A visual representation of the fat content in 10 food items, including: Potato Chips (small bag), Pretzels (small bag), Cupcakes (2), Chocolate Bar With Nuts, Peanut Butter Crackers, Chocolate Chip Cookies (4 small), Animal Crackers (14 pieces), Small Chocolate Donuts (3), Mixed Nuts, Granola Bar.

Hidden sugar facts test tubes

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCNonbook 613.2 HID

Summary: This set of test tubes takes a look at ten common foods - such as fruit yogurt, frosted corn flakes, chocolate milk, and more - and reveals how much sugar a serving contains.

  Image Source: www.healthedco.com

Cold case : the facts against sweetened drinks display

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCNonbook 613.2 COL

       Summary: features a cooler with six beverage models depicting cola, chocolate milk, orange juice, iced blended coffee, an energy drink, and a protein smoothie. Each weighted model contains the number of grams of liquid sugar consumed by drinking 20 ounces of the corresponding beverage every day for 1 week.

Active kids MyPlate poster

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCGraphic 613.2 ACT

 

Summary: Fruit and vegetable Garden Heroes characters encourage and promote healthy food choices and 60 minutes of daily physical activity with this sports-themed and kid-friendly USDA MyPlate food guide poster. MyPlate is the new USDA food symbol replacing the food guide pyramid.

Image Source: https://getvisualz.com

 

MyPlate Poster

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCGraphic 613.2 MYP

 

Summary: This poster for preschool children (ages 2 to 5 years) is based on USDA's MyPlate recommendations.

Image Source: https://getvisualz.com

USDA MyPlate poster

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials Center

Call Number: TMCGraphic 613.2 USD

 

Summary: Highlights how to build a healthy menu and diet with tips for selecting the best choices within each food group. Based on ChooseMyPlate.com and the UDSA Dietary Guidelines, the poster promotes healthy choices and eating habits.

   Image Source: https://getvisualz.com

 

Body, Sex Education and Nursing

Teach-a-bodies

Location: Floor 2 Circulation Desk

Call Number: TMCNonbook 649 TEA

Summary: includes family of 4 dolls and 1 carrying case. Dolls are anatomically correct and can be used in sex education, investigation of sexual abuse, therapy with children, and in courtroom testimony.

Body Walk kit

Location: Floor 2 Circulation Desk

Call Number: TMCNonbook 613.2 BOD

  

     Summary: 1 resource binder -- 11 flipcharts -- bag of 120 food tags -- bag of 18 resistance bands -- 20 ft. red and white rope -- 6 ft. white rope (floss) -- 20 ft. white rope (intestine) -- understanding the stomach poster -- digestive system poster -- respiratory system poster -- the heart poster -- understanding skin flip chart -- fingertip blood oxygen monitor -- large toothbrush -- Mr. Gross Mouth (with tobacco juice, 3 tongue depressers, smokeless tobacco pamphlet) -- Mr. Clean Mouth -- heart model -- brain model (with model powder) -- knee joint model -- glob of fat model (with information trifold, model powder, healthy eating pamphlet) -- mighty muscle model -- life or death lungs model set (with model powder) -- vitamin/mineral ID guide display -- fat facts test tubes set (with healthy eating out brochure, dietary fat table tent, fat facts questions, fat fact mini text) -- sugar facts test tubes set (with sugar table tent, sugar facts questions, sugar facts mini text) -- navel orange model -- strawberries model -- tomato slice model -- cheese cubes (3) model -- plain yogurt model -- baked potato model -- vanilla ice cream model -- milk model -- margarine model -- baby carrots model -- apple model -- spaghetti noodles model (2) -- brown rice model -- dry cereal model -- white bread slice model -- deluxe MyPlate cling kit -- 6 plush toys (stomach, triglyceride, fat, kidney, muscle, lung) -- storage chest with wheels.

Contraceptive Educator Kit

Location: Floor 2 Circulation Desk

Call Number: TMCNonbook 363.96 CON

 

Summary: includes 3 volumes, 3 educational resource pamphlets, and demonstration items in tote bag. Demonstration items are: demonstration picture booklet for the female condom, wooden penis condom demonstrator, DUREX non-lubricated condoms and FC2 female condom, I-D Millennium lubricant, I-D Glide water based lubricant, I-D Juicy lube, I-D Pleasure lubricant, I-D senesation warming liquid, VCF foam, Today Sponge, Paraguard practice model, Femcap sample, cyclebeads, Gynol sample tube.

Contraceptive Education Kit

Location: Floor 2 Circulation Desk

Call Number: TMCNonbook 363.96 CON

 

Summary: includes 3 resource pamphlets on emergency contraception, birth control choices for teens, and understanding IUDs. Demonstration items are: wooden penis condom application demo model, dental dam, 20 assorted condoms, 1 non-latex condom, 1 internal condom (female condom), diaphragm model, NuvaRing demo, lube, oral contraceptive pills, Ortho-Evra patch substitute (non-medicated patch), Depo-Provera substitute syringe (no needle), vaginal contraceptive film, emergency contraception, and IUD demo.

Ponder - the Socratic way : a nursing critical-thinking challenge

Location: Floor 6 Teaching Materials

 Call Number: TMCNonbook 610.73 PON 

Summary: The purpose of the game is to stimulate critical thinking. The instructor helps facilitate play by encouraging questions throughout the game. Discussion after answering the questions and even adding questions by the instructor and/or students is encouraged for a richer experience when valuable "teaching moments" present themselves. Instructors may also choose to add sound or photo cards at their discretion. Students will participate by answering questions and thinking through situations.

Nursing Librarian

Profile Photo
Laura Killingsworth
she/her/hers
Contact:
Room 515
309-438-3336
Subjects: Nursing

Teaching and Learning Librarian

Profile Photo
Caitlin Stewart
Contact:
Milner Library: Office 614C
(309) 438 - 3442
Website

Ask a Milner Librarian

Profile Photo
Milner Librarians
 
Contact:
309-438-3451