Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Education: Journals Related to Disabilities: Home

Complete List

Ability Magazine

Access World
Online journal

Adapted Physical Activity Quarterly
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, ERIC, PubMed, PsycINFO

American Annals of the Deaf
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, Education Abstracts, ERIC, CINAHL, PsycINFO, PubMed 

American Journal of Audiology
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, Education Abstracts, PubMed

American Journal of Occupational Therapy
Indexed in: CINAHL, PsycINFO

American Journal of Speech Language Pathology
Indexed in:  Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, ERIC, PsycINFO

American Journal on Intellectual & Developmental Disabilities (formerly American Journal on Mental Retardation)
Indexed in: ERIC

Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Indexed in: CINAHL, PubMed

Art Therapy
Indexed in: CINAHL, ERIC, PsycINFO

ASHA Leader
Indexed in: CINAHL

Assessment for Effective Intervention
Indexed in: ERIC, PsycINFO

Assistive Technology Outcomes and Benefits
Indexed full text in ERIC:  click here

Autism
Indexed in Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, ERIC, PsycINFO, PubMed

Behavior Modification
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, PsycINFO

Behavioral Disorders
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts

Beyond Behavior
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC

Braille Forum

The Braille Monitor

British Journal of Special Education
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC

Career Development for Exceptional Individuals
Indexed in: ERIC, PsycINFO

Child & Family Behavior Therapy
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, PsycINFO

Communication Disorders Quarterly
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, PsycINFO

Deafness & Education International
Indexed in: CINAHL, ERIC, PsycINFO

Disability and Society
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, PsycINFO

Disability World
Online Journal

DVI Quarterly
A free online journal.  The web site does not include a search feature, so it is necessary to browse the available issues.

Education and Training in Autism and Developmental Disabilities (current issues only availablein print)
Some limited full text: click here
Indexed in ERIC (note: this links to a search limited to the journal)

Exceptional Children
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts, PsycINFO

Exceptional Parent
Indexed in: ERIC, CINAH

Exceptionality
Indexed in: Academic Search Premier, ERIC, Education Abstracts, PsycINFO

Focus on Autism and Other Developmental Disabilities
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts, PsycINFO

Focus on Exceptional Children
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts

Hearing Loss
Some full text available at the organizational web site
Indexed in: CINAHL

Information Technology and Disabilities E-Journal (from EASI)
Online Journal: ceased after 2008

Insight: Research and Practice in Visual Impairment and Blindness (print only)
Indexed in ERIC:  click here
  
International Journal of Disability, Development and Education
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, Education Abstracts, ERIC, PsycINFO

International Journal of Rehabilitation Research
Indexed in: CINAHL

International Journal of Special Education
Indexed in: ERIC, Education Abstracts

Intervention in School and Clinic
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts

Journal for Vocational Special Needs Education
ceased after 2008

Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, PubMed, PsycINFO

Journal of Applied School Psychology
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, PsycINFO

Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts, CINAHL, PubMed, PsycINFO

Journal of Communication Disorders
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, CINAHL, PubMed, PsycINFO

Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
Indexed in: ERIC, Education Abstracts, CINAHL, PubMed, PsycINFO

Journal of Developmental Education
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts

Journal of Early Intervention
Indexed in: ERIC, CINAHL, PsycINFO

Journal of Intellectual and Developmental Disability
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, CINAHL, PubMed

Journal of Intellectual Disability Research
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, ERIC, PsycINFO, PubMed

Journal of Learning Disabilities
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts, CINAHL, PsycINFO

Journal of Music Therapy
Indexed in: CINAHL, Education Abstracts, PsycINFO, PubMed

Journal of Policy and Practice in Intellectual Disabilities
Indexed in: ERIC, PsycINFO

Journal of Positive Behavior Interventions
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts, PsycINFO

Journal of Rehabilitation
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, CINAHL

Journal of Special Education
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts, PsycINFO

Journal of Special Education Technology
Indexed in: ERIC, Education Abstracts, PsycINFO

Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, Education Abstracts, ERIC, PsycINFO

Journal of the American Deafness & Rehabilitation Association (JADARA)
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete; PsycINFO

Journal of the Experimental Analysis of Behavior
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, PsycINFO, PubMed

Journal of Visual Impairment & Blindness
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts,  CINAHL, PubMed, PsycInfo

Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, Education Abstracts,  PsycINFO

LD OnLine
Online Journal

Learning Disability Quarterly
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts, PsycINFO

Learning Disabilities Research & Practice
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, PsycINFO

Mainstream Online
Online Journal

New Mobility
Some full-text information on the magazine Web site: New Mobility
Indexed in: Consumer Health Complete

Odyssey: New Directions in Deaf Education
Available Online

OTJR (Occupational Therapy Journal of Research)
Indexed in: CINAHL

Palaestra: Forum of Sports, Physical Education & Recreation For Those With Disabilities
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, Consumer Health Complete

Physical Therapy
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, PubMed

Preventing School Failure
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts

Ragged Edge Online
Online Journal

Reading & Writing Quarterly: Overcoming Learning Difficulties
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, PsycINFO

Rehabilitation Counseling Bulletin
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, ERIC, PubMed, PsycINFO

Remedial and Special Education (RASE)
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts, PsycINFO

Research and Practice for Persons With Severe Disabilities
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, PsycINFO, Sociological Abstracts

Research in Developmental Disabilities
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC,  Education Abstractst, PubMed, PsycINFO

RE:view  (ceased at the end of 2008)
Indexed in: Academic Search Premier, ERIC, Education Abstracts

Rural Special Education Quarterly
Indexed in:  Academic Search Complete, Education Abstracts

Sexuality and Disability
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, PsycINFO, CINAHL

Sign Language Studies
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, Communication and Mass Media Complete, ERIC, PsycINFO

Special Ed Advocate Newsletter (from Wrightslaw)
Newsletter Archives

Sports 'N Spokes  (print only)

Teacher Education and Special Education
Indexed in: ERIC, Education Abstracts

Teaching Exceptional Children
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts

Therapeutic Recreation Journal
Indexed in: CINAHL, ERIC, PsycINFO, SPORTDiscus

Topics in Early Childhood Special Education
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, Education Abstracts, ERIC, PsycINFO

Topics in Language Disorders
Indexed in: PsycINFO

Voices: A World Forum for Music Therapy

Volta Review
Indexed in: Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Education Abstracts, CINAHL

Volta Voices  (print only)
Indexed in: CINAHL