Skip to Main Content

CJS 369: World Criminal Justice Systems (Beichner)

This page is meant to help you navigate Milner's updated catalog and searching systems. Our resources remain the same but getting to them will be a bit different. If you have questions that this page doesn't answer, please contact me (see below).

Not everything will be changing. Here is a list of resources that will remain the same:

  • Miner's Homepage: This doesn't affect what you see when you go first go to the library website.
  • Milner's Main Search Box: The four tabs you see when starting a search will remain the same.
  • Milner's Other Pages: This will not change what you see when you change pages on Milner's website. Some of the links you click may take you to a new page, but the links themselves will remain the same.
  • Milner's Subject Databases: Individual databases will remain the same. 

Resources that Will Change

You can still start your search using this Milner Catalog tab. Keywords can be entered either in the basic search box or by clicking the Advanced Search link.

undefined

 

This search will take you to a new page. Make sure Advanced Search is selected to view all the available search options.

1. The first section shows which part of the library you are searching. The Library (Milner) Catalog button lets you looks for books and other material available at Milner, including ebooks. 

2. Just below is the actual search box. It works the same way as every other search box.

  • Enter keywords into the search boxes. Separate subtopics between boxes, connecting them with AND.
  • Any Field dropdown box identifies where in the records the catalog will search when retrieving results. It is formatted as a keyword search by default, but you can change this to title, author, etc.
  • Contains identifies how the catalog will treat the keywords within the box. The default asks the catalog to find keywords in no particular order. Use quotation marks in this case if you want an exact phrase. Alternative options may be too specific to get accurate search results unless you include a specific known phrase.

3. The Add a New Line option creates a new set of boxes if you have a more specific search that requires more boxes.

4. This last section will let you specify the type of material you want. If you only want to see a certain type of material (books, movies, journals, dissertations, etc.), you can specify that here. You can also limit to a specific language or publication date in this section.

undefined

 

Once you decide on the search criteria, click search and you will get search results. 

1. Each item will list the citation information: the title, material type, author, and publication date. 

2. Just below the citation information will list whether the book is available and in what format.

  • E-books will show "Available Onlilne."
  • Print books will say "Available" and list the call number.

3. There is a list of filters on the right side of the page. Some specific filters you may want to pay attention to:

  • Availability - This will let you limit to just e-books or just print books 
  • Subject - This will let you see the library-created subject terms that describe each item's contents
  • Location - This will limit to just the items on a particular floor

undefined

 

Clicking the title will take you to the full record.

  1. Scroll down to see how to access the item. This will look slightly different for print and electronic materials. For e-books, clicking the button under Full text availability (Ebook Central) will open a PDF of the item.
  2. Scrolling lower will show the citation information and subjects for the item.
  3. Below the citation information is the synopsis for the book

If the item is available in print the bottom of the page will show a list of books with similar call numbers (virtual browse)

undefined

undefined

You can still start your search using the Articles tab. Keywords can be entered either in the basic search box or by clicking the Advanced Search link.

undefined

 

This search will take you to a new page. Make sure Advanced Search is selected to view all the available search options.

1. The first section shows which part of the library you are searching. The Articles button lets you looks journal articles without specifying a subject-specific database. 

2. Just below is the actual search box. It works the same way as every other search box.

  • Enter keywords into the search boxes. Separate subtopics between boxes, connecting them with AND.
  • Any Field dropdown box identifies where in the records the catalog will search when retrieving results. It is formatted as a keyword search by default, but you can change this to title, author, etc.
  • Contains identifies how the catalog will treat the keywords within the box. The default asks the catalog to find keywords in no particular order. Use quotation marks in this case if you want an exact phrase. Alternative options may be too specific to get accurate search results unless you include a specific known phrase.

3. The Add a New Line option creates a new set of boxes if you have a more specific search that requires more boxes.

4. This last section will let you specify the type of material you want. To ensure the results only show journal articles, change this first dropdown box to Articles. You can also limit to a specific language or publication date in this section.

undefined

 

Once you decide on the search criteria, click search and you will get search results. 

1. Each item will list the citation information: the article title, material type, author, journal title, volume and issue number. 

2. Underneath the citation information will be a selection pulled from the abstract to give an idea of the article's content.

3. The bottom of each record indicates whether an article is peer reviewed, if it comes from a freely accessible journal, and if the article is directly available in the database.

4. There is a list of filters on the right side of the page. Some specific filters you may want to pay attention to:

  • Availability - This is the filter that will let you limit to just peer reviewed content or just items directly available in the database
  • Subject - This will let you see the database-created subject terms that describe each item's content
  • Resource Type - Will let you limit results just to a specific type (articles, reviews, online book chapters, etc.)
  • Collection - Will let you specify a particular database
  • Journal Title - Will let you limit your results to just articles from a specific publication

undefined

 

Clicking the title will take you to the full record.

  1. Scroll down to see how to access the item. Clicking the button under Full text availability will open a PDF of the item. There may be several options if the item is available in multiple databases.
  2. Scrolling lower will show the citation information, subjects, and abstract for the item.

undefined

Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Grace Allbaugh
Contact:
Milner Office: Room 415
To make an appointment to use Milner services in the building, please email me.

Schroeder Hall Room 432
Thursdays, 2:30-4:30 PM
No appointment necessary.
(Not in Schroeder office currently. Email me with any questions)
(309) 438-5313