Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANT 281: Principles of Socio-Cultural Anthropology (Hunter): Article Databases

Article Databases

ANTHROPOLOGY DATABASES

Annual Review of Anthropology  1972 to present
 Covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.

Abstracts in Anthropology 2001 to present
The only comprehensive abstracting journal in the field, Abstracts in Anthropology has established itself as an indispensable reference and research tool for the international community of anthropologists. Abstracts in Anthropology covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from a vast number of periodicals.

eHRAF World Cultures
The eHRAF World Cultures, formerly the eHRAF Collection of Ethnography, is a unique cross-cultural database with full-text ethnographies that are subject indexed at the paragraph-level for precise retrieval of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. These materials are relevant to the various social science disciplines as well as the humanities and health sciences.

eHRAF Archaeology
The eHRAF Archaeology is a Web-based, full-text database with information on prehistory of the world. This database is unique in that the paragraphs are indexed with subject codes for quick and precise retrieval of information. The eHRAF Collection of Archaeology provides researchers and students access to archaeological materials for comparative studies.

 

RELATED DATABASES

JSTOR
Full text database covering many disciplines; includes indexing for 93 anthropology journals as well as many area studies journals.

SocINDEX
Covers over 700 journals in sociology and related areas including demography, criminal justice, and ethnic, racial and gender studies.   Also includes full text articles, books and conference papers.

Sociological Abstracts
Covers over 1700 publications in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.  In addition to journal articles, this database also includes abstracts of books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers. 

America History and Life
Major database for United States and Canadian history; includes some coverage of anthropology journals.

Historical Abstracts
Major database for world history including some coverage of anthropology journals.


Academic Search Complete
Large multi-disciplinary database which includes indexing for major anthropology journals.

Subject Guide

Vanette Schwartz's picture
Vanette Schwartz
Contact:
Milner Library 416
309-438-3486