Article Databases
The sources listed below are good places to begin your research.
1. America History and Life.
The major index to journal articles on United States and Canadian history.
2. Historical Abstracts.
The major index to journal articles on world history.
Full text of backfiles of major journals in history and related fields. Does not include latest years of journals.
4. Project Muse.
Full text of recent years for journals in the humanities and social sciences.
5. PAIS Index.
Indexes articles on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations from 1915 - present; some articles in full text.
6. Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Indexes article on political science, international relations, law, and public administration & policy.
7. Academic Search Complete.
General database including articles from many areas of the social sciences and humanities.
The complete list of databases is available under the DATABASES link on the Milner Library website.
To search multiple databases at the same time, click on the “Articles” option.
Locating Journals
The Find It link is available in most databases.
Click on this link for full text access and to search for a journal in the Online Catalog.
If you have a complete citation for an article, use the Citation Finder.
Type in the journal title, year, volume and starting page, and click on Find It.
To determine if a specific journal is available online through Milner Library, go to
Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Finder:
Type in the title of your journal and click on SEARCH.
