Finding UN Documents
Illinois State University does not collection many print UN documents.
However, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign is a UN depository. Many documents from UIUC can be requested through I-Share (an academic library consortium) for free.
If you want to request an item from the U of I or any other I-Share member library. This help video explains how to do so.
Additionally, you will see links to databases that collect electronic documents in the boxes below and to the right.
UN Resources
- Permanent Mission of Trinidad and Tobago to the UNOfficial site for Trinidad and Tobago's position within the UN
- Member States on the RecordSee more about Trinidad & Tobago's activities in the UN:
* Details on UN membership
* General Debate Statements
* Speeches
* Draft resolutions sponsored
* Status diplomatic relations with other states
* UN representative's credentials - About UN Documents help guideDescribes UN documents and publications available online.
Includes links to other help guides. - Resolutions Adopted by the General AssemblyList of Resolutions, with links to the press release, which includes voting information if available.
- UN Yearbooks"[S]tands as the authoritative reference work on the activities and concerns of the Organization. Based on official UN documents, the Yearbook provides comprehensive coverage of political and security matters, human rights issues, economic and social questions, legal issues, and institutional, administrative and budgetary matters."
Searching UN Resources
- UN Digital Library: Advanced SearchOnline database for UN documents. Using the Advanced Search feature will make it much easier to search/browse for documents.
- UN Digital Library: Documents and PublicationsAccess to UN documents by type (e.g., Resolutions and Decisions, Reports)
- UN: Official Documents SystemUseful search option if you already have a document symbol.
- UN: Unite Search"Enterprise Search engine for the United Nations" that allows one to search for documents and web content simultaneously.
- UN: Voting DataUN database for Voting information
- UN: SpeechesDatabase specific to speeches held at the United Nations
- UN: Press ReleasesDatabase for press releases put out by United Nations.
- UN Treaty Database"The United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) is a publication produced by the Secretariat of the United Nations containing all treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded by the Secretariat since 1945, pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter. Previously only available in printed format, the UNTS is now available as a fully-searchable on-line database. To search for a specific treaty or group of treaties please use the Advanced Search tool."
Data
UN Statistical Yearbook by
The Statistical Yearbook provides in a single volume a comprehensive compilation of internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities, at world, regional and national levels, for an appropriate historical period. It is prepared by the Statistics Division, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, of the United Nations Secretariat.
Publication Date: Annual
Other Helpful Links
- UN Document CodesThis database is a linguistic tool created primarily to facilitate the work of United Nations staff members and other people around the world who participate or are interested in the Organization's activities. The inclusion of an item in this database should not be construed as an endorsement by the United Nations of any particular position, entity or programme.
- Alphabetic Listing of UN System Organizations and EntitiesThe United Nations system is made up of the organizations established by the Charter of the United Nations, that is, the United Nations proper, the specialized agencies provided for in Article 57 of the Charter and a number of programmes established by the General Assembly under its authority derived from Article 22 of the Charter
- Directory of United Nations System OrganizationsThis page categorizes and links to UN system and related organizations. You may also view an alphabetic ordering (see above)
- UN Global Issues OverviewAs the world’s only truly universal global organization, the United Nations has become the foremost forum to address issues that transcend national boundaries and cannot be resolved by any one country acting alone.