What's on This Page
This page will help you use Milner's various databases to find articles on various topics relating to reproductive justice. These are general search strategies. Take a look at the different topical pages to find specific suggestions based on those research areas and apply these strategies to those research areas.
Multi-Subject Databases
CQ Researcher
Full text database providing reports on current, social, and controversial issues representing multi-faceted and opposing viewpoints. Reports include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, bibliography, graphics, photos, and short sidebar features.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Full text database providing essays from multiple perspectives about current, social, and controversial issues in a pro/con format. Also provides links to other related sources like journals, magazines, images, audio, video, and websites.
Project Muse Premium Collection
Full text scholarly journal database focused on the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
JSTOR
Multi-disciplinary full text database of core scholarly journals. Search Help for Students
Web of Science
Access scholarly literature and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes unique search options like Cited Author and Cited Reference.
CINAHL Plus (now CINAHL Complete)
Full text database of nursing & allied health journals.
PubMed
Citation database compiling scholarly research from all aspects of biomedicine such as biochemistry, molecular biology, bioengineering systems, biotechnology, cell and developmental biology, genetics, health informatics, human structure and function, immunology, microbiology, immunology, neuroscience, pathology, pharmacology, and physiology.
News Databases
Nexis Uni
Full text database including United States and foreign news/newspapers, business information, company profiles, legal information, and reference sources. Help Videos
Newspaper Source
Full text news articles from select US and international newspapers and news broadcasts transcripts.
New York Times (website)
Access full text articles and premium content on the New York Times website. Users are required to create a personal account. If prompted verify your Illinois State University affiliation. [Access Historical New York Times]
Washington Post (digitized microfilm)
Digitized full text replica of the print version of the Washington Post (Final edition). Includes editions from 2008 to present with a 3-month embargo on current issues. For the most current issues, use Newspaper Source (EBSCO).
Chicago Tribune (1985-present)
Full text database of the Chicago Tribune newspaper which covers international, national, and regional stories on a variety of topics.
Select Subject Databases
Business Source Complete
Full text database of business information including scholarly journals, books, author profiles, and company information.
EconLit
Full text database of economics including journals, books, dissertations, and working papers.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with full text
Full text database for criminology and related disciplines and includes journals, books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies.
America: History and Life
Citation database of journal articles about U.S. and Canadian history ranging from prehistoric to present times.
Historical Abstracts
Citation database about world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada; search America History and Life).
CINAHL Complete
Full text database of nursing & allied health journals.
PubMed
Citation database compiling scholarly research from all aspects of biomedicine such as biochemistry, molecular biology, bioengineering systems, biotechnology, cell and developmental biology, genetics, health informatics, human structure and function, immunology, microbiology, immunology, neuroscience, pathology, pharmacology, and physiology.
Philosopher's Index
Citation database including journals and books related to philosophy, ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysic logic, and the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
PhilPapers
Citation database of philosophy scholarship and includes journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages.
PAIS Index
Citation database focused on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations and includes journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, and conference papers. Some full text available.
APA PsycINFO
Premier full text psychology database includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
SocINDEX
Full text database for sociology and all sub-disciplines and includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and author profiles cover topics like abortion, crime, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social problems, substance abuse and violence.
GenderWatch
Full text interdisciplinary database including articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
Legal/Legislative Databases
HeinOnline Academic
Full text database focused on legal information from journals, federal laws, regulations, case law, reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General, and the U.S. State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS). Help documentation available here.
Westlaw
Full text database of court cases, law review articles, legal statutes, court rules, proposed & adopted regulations, proposed & enacted legislation & administrative decisions, and guidances at the federal and state levels. (Help with database)
National Survey of State Laws
Full text database comparing state law and statutes divided into eight legal categories: business and consumer, criminal, education, employment, family, general civil, real estate, and tax. Help documentation available here.
Federal Register Library
Full text database of the Federal Register, the Code for Federal Regulations (CFR), the United States Government Manual, and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. Help documentation available here.
ProQuest Congressional
Compilation of U.S. House and Senate publications from hearings, committees, and other documents. Includes full text to the US Serial Set. (Help with database)
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Online version of the print source and includes statistics and data gathered from multiple government agencies and represents social, political, and economic life in United States. Data is viewable in table format or as an Excel spreadsheet.
Statistical Insight
Comprehensive statistics database including data from federal and state agencies, international intergovernmental organization, professional, business, and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.
How to Find Articles
The suggestions below should help you find articles. While the example search is shown using Academic Search Complete, suggestions are applicable to most databases. Your first step is to select a database. There are database suggestions just above these instructions. If you don't see what you need, use the Database A-Z link directly below to view the complete list of available options.
- A-Z Databases ListA list of all of the databases available to the ISU community.
Enter Search Question
First, enter keywords into the database's search box that describe your search topic. You can enter terms representing similar ideas (synonyms) into one search box, separating each term with OR to create a broader search. You can add different subtopics to subsequent boxes to create more targeted search questions. Most databases also have resources to help you search for available subject terms. Look for the 'Thesaurus' or 'Search Terms' buttons on the search page to find specific vocabulary.
Skim Results List
That initial search should yield a list of results. Skim the citation information to determine which items relate to your question. The limiters on the side of the results page (usually on the left) will help you curate your list to better relate to your question. Click on the title of an item to get more information.
Identify Relevant Articles
Each article's record page will let you read through the abstract and associated subject terms for it. This will help you determine whether something is relevant to your search question. If you want to read the full text of the article, click the 'PDF Full Text' button. If that button isn't available, click the Find It button to search for the article in other databases or request it through interlibrary loan.
