Finding Materials
The library's collection is always evolving. Below are a few strategies to find the resources you need. Looking for a specific resource type? Select a subpage using the left navigation bar to go directly to that information. In this section, you'll learn how to:
- Browse the shelves
- Use the virtual browse
- Search subject headings
- Identify databases to search
- Use the journal search tool
Browse the Shelves
Looking for books or DVDs? Come visit us and check out the areas below!
| Floor | Call Number Range | Subjects |
| Floor 2 | Use call number ranges below | DVDs |
| Floor 3 | E740-E837.7 | Twentieth Century History |
| Floor 3 | E838-E889 | Later Twentieth Century History (1961 -) |
| Floor 3 | E895-E912 | Twenty-first Century History |
| Floor 4 | HQ1101- HQ2030.7 | Feminism and Feminist Movements |
| Floor 4 | JF799-JF1177 | Political rights and Political Participation |
| Floor 4 | JK1846-JK1929 | Suffrage |
| Floor 4 | K3290-K3304 | Election Law |
| Floor 4 | K7120-K7148 |
Status, Capacity and Disability Law
|
| Floor 4 | See Government Documents Librarian for Assistance | Gov Docs |
Virtual Browse
You can virtually browse the shelves in the library catalog. Locate a title of interest by searching a title, keyword, or subject. Scroll down in the catalog record, and you'll see a virtual browse of other materials on the shelf!
Subject Headings
To find all types of resources -- both physical and online-- try searching certain subjects. Subject headings are standardized vocabulary that are added to records to help you find what you need.
Please note that subject headings may include terminology that is now outdated and does not reflect the views of Milner Library.
To search for a subject, enter your search terms and then choose to search for items with those terms "in subject" by changing the dropdown menu below the search box. Depending on your terms, you may choose to search for items "with the exact phrase" (so in the example below, search results must have the exact term "black suffragist -- history" listed as a subject) or for items "that contain my query words" in the subject (for example, searching "suffragist" would return "suffrage," and many additional subjects). To expand your search, consider changing the Library Catalog dropdown (in the image below) to I-Share Libraries.
Unsure which subject headings to search? If you find a title that interests you, scroll down to "Details" to follow the subject headings in that record to continue your browsing:
Databases & Articles
The following databases are a great starting point to find resources related to issues surrounding voter restoration, including a variety of interdisciplinary and multi-subject databases:
- Academic Search UltimateA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Journal Articles search
Search for articles from various journals, magazines, newspapers and more. Note: Listed materials may not be available through Milner Library.
- Black Thought and CultureWritten by leaders within the black community, this database includes books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews from authors such as Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, and Booker T. Washington.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with full textFull text database for criminology and related disciplines and includes journals, books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies.
- GenderWatchFull text interdisciplinary database including articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
- HeinOnline AcademicFull text database focused on legal information from journals, federal laws, regulations, case law, reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General, and the U.S. State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS). Help documentation available here.
- JSTORFull text multi-disciplinary database of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources encompassing area studies, arts, business, economics, history, humanities, law, medicine, allied health, science, mathematics, and social sciences. Search Help for Students
- PAIS IndexCitation database focused on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations and includes journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, and conference papers. Some full text available.
- Project Muse Premium CollectionFull text scholarly journal database focused on the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
- ProQuest CongressionalCompilation of U.S. House and Senate publications from hearings, committees, and other documents. Includes full text to the US Serial Set. (Help with database)
- SocINDEXFull text database for sociology and all sub-disciplines and includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and author profiles cover topics like abortion, crime, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social problems, substance abuse and violence.
- Women and Social Movements in the US (Scholar's Edition)An archival collection, focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, includes full-text documents, reviews of books and websites, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
