HIS 135 - History of the United States to 1865

The resources and information in this guide will be useful for the research on topics related to crime cases in the United States before 1865.

What's in this Guide?

• Reference Sources

  This section contains e-book and print encyclopedias and handbooks specific to crime.

• Online Catalog

  This section covers searching for books Milner's Library Catalog and I-Share Catalog along with key subject terms related to crime.

• History Books -- Call Numbers. 
  This section shows the Library of Congress call numbers for history especially African American history and the history of slavery and anti-slavery.

• Article Databases

  This section offers links to major databases in history with which to locate journal citations and the complete text of articles.

• Primary Sources
  This section describes how to search for diaries, interviews, correspondence and oral histories in Milner's Library Catalog. Also included are databases containing major historical newspapers, popular magazines, U.S. government documents, legal sources and additional full text online and print documents and collections.

• Interlibrary Loan

  When materials needed are not held within Milner Library's collections, this section explains how to request items from other libraries.

• Citing Your Sources

  The Chicago Manual of Style is used by History students to cite their sources. This section contains links to the full text of the Chicago Manual as a well as a quick guide and the print volume.