Education History Databases

The following databases have articles dating back to the 1800s. You will find both research about past education practices as well as articles written during specific time periods.

Consult the Education Administrational & Foundations subject guide, for a full list of EAF specific databases.

ERIC (EBSCO)
This ERIC interface emphasizes keyword searching. Premier full text education database includes journal articles, ERIC documents, conference proceedings, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
America: History and Life
Citation database of journal articles about U.S. and Canadian history ranging from prehistoric to present times.
Includes sources published from 1882 to present
Education Index Retrospective
Citation database includes journals, magazines, yearbooks, and book reviews, published between 1929-1983, covering adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, and teaching methods.
Includes sources published from 1929-1983
JSTOR
Multi-disciplinary full text database of core scholarly journals. Search Help for Students
Chicago Tribune, Historical (1849-2013)
Full text historic database of the Chicago Tribune newspaper which covers international, national, and regional stories on a variety of topics. Includes issues published from 1849-2012; new year added annually.
New York Times, Historical (1851-2019)
Full text historic database of the New York Times newspaper which covers international, national, and regional stories on a variety of topics. Includes issues published from 1851-2018. A new year is added annually. For the most current issues, create a free NYT website account via the Library catalog.