Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education: Statistics: P-12 Education

Statistics Related to P-12 Education

Common Core of Data (CCD)
From the National Center for Educational Statistics. CCD is a comprehensive, annual, national statistical database of information concerning all public elementary and secondary schools (approximately 95,000) and school districts (approximately 17,000).

Education Finance Statistics Center
From the National Center for Educational Statistics. If you are seeking education finance information for elementary/secondary public or private education, this National Center for Education Statistics web site should help you. Included are links for questions about Postsecondary Surveys, Funding Opportunities, and Student Financial Assistance.

Education Week's Quality Counts  
Annual reports providing state-by-state data on educational quality.

Education Week's Technology Counts
Most annual reports have includeded state-by-state data related to technology issues in education. The 2010 report, however, focuses on trends, including the growth of online curricula, opportunities for online coursetaking, the use of multimedia digital content, online assessments, and school policies on cellphones, iPods, wikis and blogs, and various forms of social media, as well as several other measures of how schools and districts are
using technology to improve teaching and learning.

First Year Performance at Illinois Public Universities and Colleges
Located on the Chicago Tribune's web site, data shows how Illinois public school graduates fared when they became freshmen at the state’s universities and community colleges.  Searchable by public university or college and by high school.  Users can look up average high school GPAs and grade point averages earned at each public university and community college that students attended.

Illinois State Board of Education School Report Cards
Searchable database, available in for English and Spanish, for locating school report cards. District and State Report Cards are only available from 2002 forward. Spanish versions of report cards are only available from 2001 forward.

Illinois Teacher and Administrator Salaries
Provided by the Chicago Sun Times, his searchable database contains job and salary information for teachers and administrators at every public school in Illinois from the 2009-2010 school year, according to records kept by the Illinois State Board of Education. Either search by name or use the other filters for as broad or narrow a search as you would like.

Indicators of School Crime and Safety: 2010
From the National Center for Educational Statistics.  Examines crime occurring in school as well as on the way to and from school. It provides the most current detailed statistical information to inform the Nation on the nature of crime in schools.

Interactive Illinois Report Card 
This site facilitates comparisons using the state school report card data.

Kids Count Data Center
Includes numerous measure of child well-being, including state-by-state data and data by topic.

Lost Opportunity: A 50 State Report on the Opportunity to Learn in America
Produced by the Schott Foundation for Public Education.  Provides data, including interactive maps of each state,  showing how states are doing in terms of providing resources that are necessary if a child -- regardless of race, ethnicity, or socioeconomic status -- is to have a fair eduction.  Shows the economic, socia,l and national security impact of not providing access to a proficient education to every American child.

National Education Association Reports & Statistics
Statistical reports focusing on public schools and educator issues.  Covers status and salary issues of school teachers.

Nation's Report Card
Report Cards communicate the findings of the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), a continuing and nationally representative measure of achievement in various subjects over time. The Nation’s Report Card compares performance among states, urban districts, public and private schools, and student demographic groups.

Projections of Education Statistics to 2018
Provides projections for key education statistics, including enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary schools. Included are national data on enrollment and graduates for the past 15 years and projections to the year 2018, as well as state-level data on enrollment in public elementary and secondary schools and public high school graduates to the year 2018.

Public Elementary-Secondary Education Finance Data
From the U.S. Census Bureau.  Education finance data include revenues, expenditures, debt, and assets (cash and security holdings) of elementary and secondary public school systems. Statistics cover all states, including the District of Columbia, and are available on an annual basis. File formats for downloadable data may vary by year.

Public School District Finance Peer Search School Year
From the National Center for Educational Statistics. This searchable database will allow you to compare the finances of a school district with its peers (those districts which share similar characteristics).Uses  (FY2007) data in combination with its corresponding non-fiscal data (SY2006-2007) and Percent Poverty data (calendar year 2007). The collection and adjudication of fiscal data are generally 1-2 years behind non-fiscal data.

School District Demographic System (SDDS)
The School District Demographics System (SDDS) is a Web-based resource operated by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) of the U.S. Department of Education. SDDS enables access to school district demographic and related geographic data that is not available in any other form.

School Districts (from the U.S. Census)
The U.S. Census Bureau develops demographic, economic, geographic, and fiscal data for school districts. It does not collect student achievement information and it does not provide data that identifies characteristics of individual students or staff members.

Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS)
Provides data on the mathematics and science achievement of U.S. 4th- and 8th-grade students compared to that of students in other countries. TIMSS data have been collected in 1995, 1999, 2003, and 2007.

Urban Institute: Education
The Urban Institute and six universities have founded the Center for Analysis of Longitudinal Data in Education Research (CALDER). "CALDER will mine the longitudinal databases emerging as educational systems are subject to increased accountability, especially under the No Child Left Behind Act."  Reports are added on a regular basis.