Geography, Geology, & the Environment

This collection includes images of severe storms and clouds, and historic picutures from the National Weather Service.

Online photographic tours covering topics such as waterways, evolution of Earth history, and scientists of the Earth. Note: Requires the Shockwave plugin.

A searchable directory of images, visualizations, and animations of the Earth, from NASA.

The goal of the project is to visit each of the latitude and longitude integer degree intersections in the world and to take pictures at each location. The pictures and stories are posted on this website.

This website is a searchable/browsable, annotated subject directory of thousands of Internet resources, which are seleceted and evaluated by librarians.

NTIS is the federal government's central source for scientific, technical, engineering, and related business information. Some of the information is available electronically from this website; for something that is not, check to see if the library has it.

Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.

The website for earth reference data and models.

The EROS Data Center is a data management, systems development, and research field center for the U.S. Geological Survey's National Mapping Division. The EDC stores, processes and distributes a variety of data, including cartographic data, satellite data, and aircraft data.

The USGS Library serves the research needs of USGS scientists and provides information to other organizations and individuals in the areas of geology, hydrology, cartography, biology, and related fields.

Listing of free, online USGS books, reports, and pamphlets.

Database of millions of physical and cultural geographic features in the US. For non-US geographic features, use GEOnet Names Server.

A collection of maps and related information about Canada

A variety of digital maps from the Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress.

A large collection of online maps from The University of Texas at Austin.

A variety of maps for recreational and professional topographic map users.

FTP access to digital cartographic data for the United States.

The mission of the NPCA is to protect and enhance America's National Park System for present and future generations.

The National Park Service website provides information about the National Park Service, as well as information about national parks, historic sites, monuments, and more.

American Rivers is a national non-profit conservation organization dedicated to protecting and restoring healthy, natural rivers and the variety of life they sustain for people, fish, and wildlife.

This site aims to provide a comprehensive list of links to hydrology and hydrology-related resources; it is maintained by the Hydrology Group of the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory.

Use the Geo Data Portal to access, view, and download information from geo-spatial databases containing a broad spectrum of data produced by the USGS and other governmental agencies.

A tutorial on remote sensing technology and its applications.

The PRB's mission is to be the leader in providing timely and objective information on U.S. and international population trends and their implications.

Includes information concerning climate, emissions, impacts, and more.

Links to latest U.S. weather information, climate statistics and historical archives.

Worldwide information on the latest earthquakes.

Data and images covering tropical cyclones, earthquakes, tsunamis, and volcanos are provided.

Provides current and historical data.

The NSSL, in partnership with the National Weather Service, is dedicated to improving severe weather warnings and forecasts in order to save lives and reduce property damage.

Links to latest U.S. weather information, climate statistics and historical archives.

The U.S. Natural Hazard Statistics provide statistical information on fatalities, injuries, and damages caused by weather related hazards.

This website from the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) provides statistics from government publications, such as the Minerals Yearbook, on topics such as production, recycling, and import sources of minerals. It is searchable by commodity (mineral), country, and state.