Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOC 493.01: Pro-Seminar in Sociology (Dougherty): Article Databases

Article Databases

To search multiple databases at the same time, click on the "Articles" tab on the Milner website.

The sources listed below are good places to begin your research. 
 

Sociological Abstracts
Major database for sociology journal literature that also includes book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, etc.

Annual Review of Sociology.
Volumes of collected essays on various aspects of sociology.  All articles are in full text from 1975 to the present.


SocINDEX
Includes sociology literature along with ethnic and racial studies, demography, criminal justice and related areas.

JSTOR
Full text database covering sociology as well as other social science and humanities disciplines. 


  Academic Search Complete

Indexes over 11,000 journals and periodicals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, etc.
 

 

Dissertations & Theses
Indexing for dissertations accepted at accredited universities since 1861; includes the full text of most dissertations.

 

  Web of Science.
 Multi-disciplinary database including citation indexing for the social sciences.


Google Scholar

Provides indexing, cited by references and links to full text of scholarly articles.

 

Depending on your topic, other databases may be useful for your research, such as ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center), Criminal Justice Abstracts, Contemporary Women’s Issues,  Communication Source, etc.  The complete list of databases by subject and by title is available under the DATABASES tab on the Milner Library website.

 

Locating Journals

The Find It link is available in most databases. 
Click on this link for full text access and to search for a journal in the Online Catalog.

 

If you have a complete citation for an article, use Citation Finder .
Type in the journal title, year, volume and starting page; then click on Find It.

 

To determine if a specific journal is available online through Milner Library, use the
Journals, Magazine, Newspaper Finder:  Journal Search

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Vanette Schwartz's picture
Vanette Schwartz
Contact:
Milner Library 416
309-438-3486