Chicago Tribune, Historical 1847-1998.
The Historical Chicago Tribune provides the full text of articles on national and international news, along with issues and events in Chicago, Illinois, and the entire Midwest. Full page images are available for every issue cover to cover and include not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Chicago Defender 1909 - 1975
The historical Chicago Defender provides full text access to articles from the major African American newspaper in Chicago and the Midwest.
New York Times, Historical 1851-2017
The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspapers, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Harpweek 1857-1912
Full text of Harper's Weekly, a major 19th century American illustrated newspaper.
Newspapers.com Illinois Collection.
Full text online coverage of newspapers from several cities in Illinois including the Bloomington/Normal Pantagraph.
Pantagraph (Bloomington-Normal)
Online access through Nexis Uni from November 13, 1996 through current issues.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
Full text for some 700+ newspapers from 1777 - 1963.