Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: Tests and Measures: Identifying Commercial Tests

Databases for Identifying Commercial Tests

Mental Measurements with Tests in Print
Combined online versions of Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print.  Provides test reviews from the 9th to 17th editions of Mental Measurements Yearbook.  Provides directory information (without reviews) from Tests in Print.  This resource is sometimes referred to as "Buros" because it is published by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska Lincoln.

Search Now

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Describes both commercial and non-commercial tests. HaPI provides information on approximately 15,000 tests (including questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, and more).  Full-text tests are not included in HaPI. HaPI includes primary sources, secondary sources, and reviews.  Primary sources are original articles in which a test is first described.  Secondary sources provide information about how a test has been used or some level of additional detail about the test.  Review sources describe additional uses of an instrument. Results of a HaPI search are typically headed by the test name rather than by the name of the publication in which the test is described.HaPI can be searched to

  • learn what tests exist,
  • determine availability of validity and reliabilty data,
  • track the history and use of a test over time, and
  • find information about ordering tests.

Put in the kind of instrument you need (example - test anxiety) and change the drop-down box next to the search box to ME Measure.
Search Now

ETS Test Collection
Describes both commercial and noncommercial tests.  Database of 20,000 standardized tests and research instruments. Sponsored by ETS (Educational Testing Service). Does not include test instruments but provides directions for obtaining them.
Search Now

Books for Identifying Commercial Tests

Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business
Floor 2 Reference BF176 .T43 2008

A good place to start looking for tests. This reference is designed for quick identification of a test to meet a specific need. Unlike other test guides, it does not provide evaluations or reviews. Over 3,000 published English-language assessment instruments are listed under three broad subject categories (psychology, education, and business), with 87 subsections. Each entry provides a purpose, description, intended population, administration and scoring, cost and availability. Indexed by publisher, title, author, out-of-print instruments, availability of computer scoring, and tests composed for special population groups (e.g, visually impaired, non-English speakers, etc.).
View Catalog Record

Test Critiques 1985 - , 11 vol.
Floor 3 Shelves, Building Use Only:
BF176 .T418

A standard outline for critiques includes an introduction, practical applications and uses, technical aspects, and a critique of each test. Test Critiques contains scholarly reviews and includes information related to the reliability, validity and normative development of the measurements. Focuses primarily on psychology, education and business tests. It should be used in conjunction with a sister publication Tests. There is a cumulative title index as well as indexing for publishers, subject and author/reviewer.
View Catalog Record

Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment (electronic book)

     Contains articles which list examples of major tests for topic areas.
     
View Catalog Record