Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: Tests and Measures: Finding Unpublished Tests

The ETS Test Collection Database

Describes both commercial and noncommercial tests.  Database of 20,000 standardized tests and research instruments. Sponsored by ETS (Educational Testing Service). Does not include test instruments but provides directions for obtaining them. Includes titles in the Tests in Microfiche collection.

Be aware that "downlodable" does not mean free--most instruments cost around $25.
To search for a downloadable test:

  • Change the drop-down box to Order Information
  • Type "downloadable" in the search box
  • Click "Search"
  • Use the Advanced Search tab to combine the search for a downloadable test with another search parameter.

To limit your search in ETS Test Collection to only those tests available in microfiche:

  • From the opening Search screen, Click on Advanced.
  • In the first dropdown box choose the field you want to search for your topic word (e.g., All Fields). Type your search word in the far right box.
  • Next, from TitleSearch box, type TIM in the box and click search. This should give you results available in Tests in Microfiche.
  • Ask at the Reference Desk on the main floor for help in retrieving the microfiche.

Search Now

Test Compilation Database


For an extensive list of test compilations see Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes, a Web site compiled by Helen Hough, Health Sciences Librarian at the University of Texas at Arlington. To locate copies of compilations identified through Hough's Web site, search the Milner Catalog.

 

Tests in Microfiche

Tests in Microfiche
(Microfiche cards are located in the Storage Basement facility. Inquire at the Floor 2 reference desk for assistance.)


Tests in Microfiche is a collection of approximately 1,300 tests selected from the professional literature. These tests are not commercially published. Tests in this collection are not included in the Milner Catalog. To identify materials in this collection use the print indexes located in the Floor 2 reference collection at LB1131 .T55X.

You can also generate a list of tests in the collection by searching Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes, a Web site compiled by Helen Hough of the University of Texas at Arlington.  Tip search the page for "tests in microfiche."

Tests in this collection may be used without further author/publisher permission.

Books Containing Unpublished Tests and Measures


You might be able to find a list of the instruments included in the book by examining the Table of Contents tab on the Catalog Record.  Most records will include information about copyright.  Keep in mind that you may need to obtain permission from the copyright holder.

Assessing Children's Well-Being: A Handbook of Measures
Floor 5 Shelves RJ 50 .A835 2004

Includes 20 instruments
View Catalog Record

A Compendium of Neuropsychological Tests: Administration, Norms, and Cmmentary
Floor 2 Reference
RC386.6.N48 S67 2006
View Catalog Record

Experience at Work: A Compendium and Review of 249 Measures and Their Use
Floor 4 Shelves HF 5549.5 .A83 E9 1981
Includes 93 instruments.
View Catalog Record

Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques
Floor 2 Reference HQ 728 .H267 2001

Includes 168 instruments (see Volume 3).
View Catalog Record

Handbook of Research Design & Social Measurement
Floor 2 Reference H 62 .M44 2002
View Catalog Record

Handbook of Scales for Research in Crime and Delinquency
Floor 2 Reference HV 9274 .B76 1983
Includes 99 instruments.
View Catalog Record

Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures, 3rd ed.
HQ60 .H36 2001

Includes 225 instruments.
View Catalog Record

Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences
Floor 2 Reference LB 3051 .L4543 2000
Includes 125 instruments.
View Catalog Record

The Measurement of Attitudes Toward People with Disabilities: Methods, Psychometrics and Scales
HV1553 .A62 1988
View Catalog Record


Measures for Clinical Practice
Volume 1: Couples, Families, and Children
Volume 2: Adults
Floor 2 Reference BF 176 .C66 2007

See Floor 3 for previous editions.
Emphasis is on rapid assessment. Includes 423 instruments. For a list of instruments by subject, see "Instruments Cross-Indexed by Problem Area," starting on page xxx of each volume.
View Catalog Record

Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Attitudes
Floor 2 Reference BF 698.4 .M38 1991
Includes 112 instruments
View Catalog Record

The Psychologist's Book of Personality Tests
Floor 2 Reference BF 698.5 J35 2001
Includes 24 instruments.
View Catalog Record

Sociological Measurement: An Inventory of Scales and Indices
Floor 4 Shelves H62 .B66 1967

Includes 25 instruments.
View Catalog Record

Sourcebook of Adult Assessment Strategies
Floor 5 Shelves RC 473 .P78 S38 1995

Includes 67 instruments.
View Catalog Record

The Sourcebook of Nonverbal Measures: Going Beyond Words
Floor 6 Shelves P 99.5 S58 2005

Includes 27 instruments.
View Catalog Record