Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOC 271: Introduction to Sociological Research (Suwandi): Article Databases

Article Databases

The sources listed below are good places to begin your research. 
 

Sociological Abstracts
Major database for sociology journal literature that also includes book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, etc.


SocINDEX
Includes sociology literature along with ethnic and racial studies, demography, criminal justice and related areas.

Annual Review of Sociology.
Volumes of collected essays on various aspects of sociology.  All articles are in full text from 1975 to the present.

 

JSTOR
Full text database covering sociology as well as other social science and humanities disciplines. 


ERIC

Education Full Text
Major databases for education journal literature, also including books, book chapters, and dissertations.
 

Academic Search Complete
Indexes over 11,000 journals and periodicals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, etc.
 

 

  Web of Science.
 Multi-disciplinary database including citation indexing for the social sciences.


Google Scholar

Provides indexing, cited by references and links to full text of scholarly articles.

 

Depending on your topic, other databases may be useful for your research, such as Criminal Justice Abstracts,   Communication Source, etc.  The complete list of databases by subject and by title is available under the DATABASES tab on the Milner Library website.   To search multiple databases at the same time, click on the  “Articles” tab.

 

Dissertations & Theses
Theses and dissertations covering multiple disciplines from over 1,000 accredited institutions

 

 

Course Guide