Article Databases
To search multiple databases at the same time, use the “Articles" tab on the Milner Library website.
The databases listed below are good places to begin your research.
Social Services Abstracts
Covers over 1600 publications in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy,
and community development.
Social Work Abstracts
The major index for social work journals.
Covers the social work profession, theory and practice, services for special populations, and social issues and problems.
PsycINFO
Covers journal articles, book reviews, dissertations in psychology and related fields.
SocINDEX
Covers sociology and related areas including social work, marriage & family abortion, substance abuse
& other addictions, violence, ethnic & racial studies, and gender studies.
Family Studies Abstracts
Covers journal articles in all areas of the family including marriage, divorce, family therapy, child welfare,
aging, and domestic violence.
Academic Search Complete.
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database indexing over 11,000 journals with full text for 7,100 journals.
Google Scholar
Provides searching across a wide range of scholarly sources including journal articles, books and scholarly websites.
Use the menu icon in the upper left corner to access the Advanced search.
Use "Settings - Library Links" to enable the FIND IT links for journal articles available through Milner Library.
Locating Journals
The Find It link is available in most databases.
Click on this link for full text access and to search for a journal in the Online Catalog.
To see if a journal is available electronically, use the
Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Finder
When the search screen appears; type in the title of the journal and press Enter.
If you have a complete citation for an article, use the “Citation Finder”.
Type in the journal title, year, volume and starting page, and click on SUBMIT.
