Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Annotated Bibliography

What is an annotated bibliography? This guide links to other resources that will help in constructing this specific type of bibliography.

Purpose of Annotated Bibliographies

Creating an annotation help you reflect on the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources you are citing.  Annotations may seem tedious, but done well, will further your thinking on your topic and are extremely useful in writing your literature review; you've already set out connections (or lack of) among your topics.

An annotation is not an abstract. From Cornell Library:  "Abstracts are the purely descriptive summaries often found at the beginning of scholarly journal articles or in periodical indexes. Annotations are descriptive and critical; they may describe the author's point of view, authority, or clarity and appropriateness of expression."

What is an Annotated Bibliography? How do I Make One?

What is an annotated bibliography?:

Annotated bibliographies are lists of sources, with a brief description of the source below each item. Basically, it is a references list with a descriptive paragraph below each citation

 

What Components are necessary to create an annotation?

Citation: This should be the full citation for the resource. It should look identical to citations found in a references list at the end of a paper. Each citation should be alphabetical order.

Annotation: This is a short paragraph (or two), describing, analyzing, and critiquing each resource. The annotation goes directly below the citation. The annotation should be more in-depth than just a summary. There should be an analysis of the resource that goes along with the description. The annotations shouldn't just describe what the source is about, but also how it adds evidence to your specific research question. What is unique about the information presented in this source that will help build an argument? There should also be an evaluative description of the resource that discusses the appropriateness of the resource. It should answer questions like currency, author credibility, suitability of source type, types of evidence presented, and source objectivity.

Other Annotated Bibliography Resources:

Example Annotations