Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Commons

A space and place for those seeking help with research-related needs.

Author Profile

Establishing your profile as an author, your author record, enhances your research and optimizes the dissemination thereby demonstrating quantifiable and meaningful indicators of impact.  When your author profile is consistent, it enhances search retrieval and helps to disambiguate similar and/or same author names in databases.  Your name is thus unique, establishing your “presence” as an author.

There are many products that help set-up, track, and maintain your profile.  You'll find the major products under each tab to the right of this..

Background:

  • Author Record

From Web of Science: "An author record is a set of articles likely authored by the same person. Author records are generated by a proprietary algorithm that identifies and weighs shared data elements such as author names, institution names, and citing and cited author relationships. 

  • Claim Your Record

All the databases/products found in the tabs to the right of this box provide a way to claim your record. Reasons why claiming your record is necessary (from Web of Science):

Naming conventions:  "Different authors may be represented by the same name in the product database. For example, Richard J. Johnson and Robert J. Johnson may appear as Johnson RJ.  Conversely, the same author may be represented by different names, particularly if he or she has a long publication history. For example, Barbara Demmig-Adams is indexed as:Demmig-Adams, B; DemmigAdams, B; and/or Demmig-Adams, Barbara.

Author groups:  An author may be associated with multiple groups because:

  • The author may have changed institutions or locations
  • The author may be working in multiple research areas
  • The author may be citing a wide range of works in different articles published in different years"

First Step:

Update/review your CV.  Self-check and claim your author record in all three databases: Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar.

Second step:

Regardless of the databases/products you use, establish your ORCID account (your unique numeric identifier) and import your publications.  ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier (an ORCID iD) that you own and control, and that distinguishes you from every other researcher.

The NIH, AHRQ, and CDC have recently announced that individuals supported by research training, fellowship, research education, and career development awards will be required to have ORCID iDs beginning in FY 2020. Read the full notice here.

 

With thanks to Bernard Becker Library Guides

NCBI

Have or intend to obtain an NIH, NSF, or other government funding agencies grants?

Create a My NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) account.

When you create a My NCBI account, you will automatically have access to a section called SciENcv, where you can create Biosketches in the correct format

The NIH, AHRQ, and CDC have recently announced that individuals supported by research training, fellowship, research education, and career development awards will be required to have ORCID iDs beginning in FY 2020.​ Read the full notice here.

Reasons why an ORCID iD is advantageous:

  • ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier (an ORCID iD) that you own and control, and that distinguishes you from every other researcher, especially those who have the same name(s).
  • You can connect your iD with your professional information — affiliations, grants, publications, peer review, and more.
  • You can use your iD to share your information with other systems, ensuring you get recognition for all your contributions, saving you time and hassle, and reducing the risk of errors.
  • Some publishers require ORCID iDs for authors before submitting a manuscript for peer review.
  • Some publishers require ORCID iDs of reviewers.
  • Some professional societies and organizations integrate ORCID iDs as part of membership and meeting workflows.  
  • Some databases embed ORCID iDs in author profiles.
  • Auto-populate a NIH Biosketch with information in your ORCID profile.

ORCiD = Open Researcher and Contributor ID

From Web of Science (WoS), Publons is a profiling system in which you can track your publications, citation metrics, peer reviews, and journal
editing work in one, easy to maintain profile.  You can create an account or just browse for free. 

  • All your publications, instantly imported from Web of Science, ORCID, or your bibliographic reference manager (e.g. Zotero, EndNote, or Mendeley)
  • Trusted citation metrics, automatically imported from the Web of Science
  • Your verified peer review and journal editing history, powered by partnerships with thousands of scholarly journals
  • Downloadable record summarizing your scholarly impact as an author, editor and peer reviewer

Don't discount WoS coverage in arts & humanities or the social sciences as these are also indexed. 

Because the citation metrics are so strong, regardless of whether you create a Publons account, do self-check yourself as an author and claim your author records. 

The link below to Milner WoS takes you directly to the database.  Search for yourself via the existing author field or try the new (Beta) author search.  Contact your librarian for help. 

From Elseiver, Scopus states: it "is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature."

"You can use this free author lookup to search for any author; or, use the Author Feedback Wizard to verify (claim) your Scopus Author Profile.
Register for your unique ORCID and use Scopus to import your records."

You do not need an institutional subscription to use Scopus.

 

Google Scholar also provides author profiles and accompanying citation data.

Open the link, select My Profile (top left) and complete the required information.

Be sure to enter library links:

  • Click the 3 horizontal bars (top left)
  • Scroll down to settings, then to library links
    • In the search bar, type Illinois State University
    • Select Find It@ISU
  • You may add up to 5 libraries

** After June 1, 2021, if you login to NCBI to use MyNCBI, SciENcv, MyBibliography, or to submit data to NCBI, you will need to update your login credentials. NCBI is transitioning to federated account credentials.  NCBI-managed credentials are the username and password you set at NCBI — these will be going away.

Federated account credentials are those set through eRA Commons, Google, or a university or institutional point of access.  See below for help to change or create an account.

What is My NCBI?

My NCBI is a tool that retains user information and database preferences to provide a customized interface (the Dashboard) for resources managed by the National Library of Medicine's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), such as PubMed, My Bibliography and SciENcv. The My NCBI Dashboard allows users to save searches, select display formats, set filtering options, and run automatic searches.

Why use My Bibliography and SciENcv?

Combined, My Bibliography and SciENcv help a researcher easily create and populate biosketches (you can have multiple ones) and assure your compliance with public access policy compliance.  Plus, the NIH biosketch is the correct format for the NSF biosketch.

  • Existing NCBI account? Below are instructions to CHANGE your login
    • Login to NCBI the way you usually do.
    • Click on your username in the top bar to load your NCBI Account Settings page.
    • If your Settings page has a “Native NCBI Account” username and password and have no linked accounts, then you will need to add a linked account.
    • To add a linked account, click the “Change” button under Linked Accounts.
    • You may choose several options for a linked account including the following: ORCID, Google, Facebook, Microsoft, login.gov
  • Create your NCBI account
    • Register for an account
      • Until June 2021, the account your create will use whatever username and password you select.  After your account is created, It would be easiest to immediately update / change to any of the federated options (instructions above).

Why use/have SciENcv?

SciENcv (Science Experts Network Curriculum Vitae) is a new tool that is part of My NCBI.  It help researchers create profiles in the new NIH biographical sketch format and it is a researcher profile system for all individuals who apply for, receive or are associated with research investments from federal agencies. SciENcv is available in My NCBI.    Education, employment, research activities, publications, honors, research grants, and other professional contributions can be included in “profiles.”   

Features include:

  • Pulls in your profile information from your eRA Commons account
  • Uploads your publications from My NCBI’s My Bibliography or your ORCID account (learn more about creating an ORCID account)
  • Allows you to create multiple versions of your profile by using previously entered information.  You may also opt to allow for public viewing of select “profiles.”
  • This new format must be used for all NIH grant and cooperative agreement applications submitted for due dates on or after May 25, 2015

It is easiest/smoothest if you already have an NCBI account and have created MyBibliography.

YouTube overview of SciENcv

Citation Analysis: Measuring Your Impact

Each of the major vendors provide citation metrics.

You can conduct a simple search within each to locate and then aggregate your metrics.  Your search results will be more specific and accurate if you create an account within each, claim your record (claim your articles, weed out similar names etc.).

You can then combine and weed out or de-dup: delete the duplicates.

To determine your citation metrics, follow the link and steps below.

  • Open Scopus Preview
  • Enter author name.  To ensure accuracy if it is a popular name, you may enter Illinois State University in the affiliation field.
    • If more than one author profile appears, click on your profile (or whomever you are searching).
    • If using initials, enter periods after each initial
  • Once you click on the author's profile, a list of the publications will appear and to the right of each ctation, the number of times the article has been cited will appear.
  • Click the number to view the articles that have cited your article

You can create your own account --which will help with accuracy and claiming your records.

          The details in Scopus Preview page offers some tips for using Preview.   Scroll down this webpage to follow along for more instructions for author metrics  

From UIC Library:

Google Scholar provides citation counts for articles found within Google Scholar.  Depending on the discipline and cited article, it may find more cited references than Web of Science or Scopus because overall, Google Scholar is indexing more journals and more publication types than other databases. Google Scholar is not specific about what is included in its tool but information is available on how Google obtains its content.   Limiting searches to only publications by a specific author name is complicated in Google Scholar.  Using Google Scholar Citations and creating your own profile will make it easy for you to create a list of publications included in Google Scholar.   Using your Google Scholar Citations account, you can see the citation counts for your publications and have GS calculate your h-index.  (You can also search Google Scholar by author name and the title of an article to retrieve citation information for a specific article.)

  • To set up a Google Scholar Citation account:
    • Using your google (gmail) account, create a profile of all your articles captured in Google Scholar.  Follow the prompt on the screen to set up your profile.   Once complete, this will show all the times the articles have been cited by other documents in Google Scholar and your h-index will be provided.  Its your choice whether you make your profile public or private but if you make it public, you can link to it from your own webpages.

Try Harzing's Publish or Perish Tool in order to more selectively examine published works by a specific author.

Altmetrics

Thousands of conversations about scholarly content happen online every day. Altmetric tracks a range of sources to capture and collate this activity, helping you to monitor and report on the attention surrounding the work you care about.

An overview of altmetrics

An example:

Example of Altmetrics information

Create NIH/NSF Biosketch

Resources (from other libraries/websites) for creating a Biosketch are linked below. Remember, to target your biosketch to the specifics of various grants, you can create more than one version of your biosketch. 

Though the NIH and NSF Biosketch are, by-and-large interchangeable, some aspects are unique to each.

Guides from Medical Libraries--the information is very helpful and specific; don't be deterred by authorship coming from a medical library