Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate Research in History (Wood): Reference Sources

Reference Sources

Bibliographies and Guides to the Literature


American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
Ref. Z 6201 .A55 1995, Floor 2

Reference Sources in History
Ref. Z 6201 .F72 2004, Floor 2.

Sources of Information for Historical Research
Ref. Z 6201 .S64 1994, Floor 2

Bibliography of British History, 1914-1989
DA 566 .B53 1996, Floor 3

Handbook for Research in American History
Ref. Z 1236 .P78 1994, Floor 2.

Harvard Guide to African-American History
Ref. E 185 .H326 2001, Floor 2

Africa, Asia and South America since 1800: a bibliographical guide
D 358 .A37 1995, Floor 3

To locate additional bibliographies, search in the Online Catalog under subjects such as United States--History--Bibliography or France--History--Bibliography or Women--History--Bibliography.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias


Encyclopedia of World History
Ref. D 21 .E53 1998, Floors 2 and 3

Dictionary of American History
E 174 .T47 2000, Floor 5

Oxford Companion to British History
DA 34 (2003)

Critical Dictionary of the French Revolution
Ref. DC 148 .D5313 1989, Floor 2

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
CB 361 .E52 1999, Floor 3

Handbook of American Women’s History
Ref. HQ 1410 .H36 2000, Floor 2

Encyclopedia of African History and Culture
Ref. DT 3 .P27 2001, Floor 2

World War I: the essential reference guide
D 510 .W68 2016eb

To locate additional dictionaries and encyclopedias, search in the Online Catalog under subjects such as Great Britain--History--Dictionaries or Africa--Encyclopedias, or Women--United States--History-Handbooks.

Biographical Sources


American National Biography
Ref. CT 213 .A68 1999, Floor 2 and Online.

Dictionary of American Biography
Ref. E 176 .D563, Floor 2

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Ref. DA 28 .O95 2004, Floor 2

Marquis Who's Who
Online access to Who's Who series from 1985 to the present.

Who’s Who Among African Americans
Ref. E 185.96 .W5201, Floor 2

Notable American Women
Ref. CT 3260 .N57, Floor 2
Also available online in Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

           

 

Special Topics