Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate Research in History (Wood): Primary Sources

Primary Sources

 

Newspapers

Milner Library subscribes to various newspapers both online and on microfilm. 

   The microfilm for newspapers is located on Floor 2 in the southeast corner or in Closed Stacks. 

 Microfilm of newspapers may also be borrowed from other libraries through InterLibrary Loan.  

1.    Historical New York Times (Online) 1851-2017.
 

 2.  Historical Chicago Tribune (online).  1849-1997.

 

3.  Newspapers.com - Illinois collection. (online). Years of coverage vary with different newspapers.

4.  HarpWeek. 
          Full text of Harper's Weekly for the years 1857-1912.

 
5.  Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers.
             Full text online database of 19th century papers from many states in the U.S.

6.  Chronicling America:  Historic American Newspapers.
             Full text for some 700+ newspapers from 1836-1922.

 

Additional Primary Sources

 Black Thought and Culture
Full text database of books, speeches, essays, articles, and interviews of major African American  leaders
from colonial times to the present. 

 Women and Social Movements in the U. S.  1600-2000.
 Full text database of primary and secondary sources on the role of women in a range of  social movements
throughout American history.

North American Indian Thought and Culture.
Full text database of books, diaries, letters, oral histories, speeches, etc. by and about  Native Americans
from 1500 to the present.

Library of Congress - Digital Collections (fomerly American Memory)
Library of Congress site containing primary documents from various eras of  U.S. history
including Civil War photos, diaries, maps. etc.

 

Subject Guide