Research at ISU
- Human Subjects in ResearchThis site contains crucial information on human subjects research at Illinois State.
- IRB/Human Subjects Research TrainingSee ISU Research site for important information on CITI training.
Credible Websites on IRB & Ethics
- Ethics in MedicineDesigned for clinicians, this University of Washington resource covers a myriad of topics, including confidentiality, ethics committees, & informed consent.
- Office for Human Research ProtectionsPart of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services website, this resources contains a wealth of information on human subjects research.
- World Health Organization - Research EthicsThis website includes ethical standards and procedures for human subjects research.
Books on IRB and Ethical Research
Evidence-Based Practice by
Evidence-Based Practice: An Integrative Approach to Research, Administration, and Practice is an excellent reference for interdisciplinary education and clinical agencies, as well as disciplines focused on translating research evidence to quality practices. The authors provide sound information on the research process and critical appraisal, and use a unique integrative collaborative approach to apply these principles. They also develop a strong conceptualization of integration of research and evidence-based practice from a clinical practice and administrative perspective specifically for this book. Learning objectives are included at the beginning of each chapter to identify important concepts and guide readers through the content covered in the text.The text is broken into three parts:Part I: Critical Appraisal of Research to Support Scholarship Part II: Scholarship of Administrative PracticePart III: Scholarship of Clinical Practice
ISBN: 9781449625917Publication Date: 2012-08-31
Practical Guide to Clinical Research by
Clinical Research Manual: Practical Tools and Templates for Managing Clinical Research is the "must-have" book for anyone working in the day-to-day operations of a research study or clinical trial. Filled with tools, techniques, and templates, this manual offers clinical researchers, principal investigators, and research coordinators the foundation they need to successfully organize complex trials.
ISBN: 9781937554637Publication Date: 2013-05-01
The Student's Guide to Research Ethics by
Why should every researcher consider the ethical implications of their work? What constitutes ethical research? How can best practice be maintained throughout a research project? This reader-friendly book examines the ethical issues and questions that occur in university and professional research and will help both beginning and experienced researchers to identify ethical issues when they are conducting research. The book thoroughly examines the broader ethical issues that arise throughout research, from the design stage through to data collection and analysis. It also investigates topical issues such as content, confidentiality and ethical questions in the dissemination of research. There are also discussions of ethical theories as well as case studies that highlight dilemmas and how they can be avoided or resolved. This new edition is thoroughly updated to reflect the greater emphasis researchers must now place on ethics and includes information on: Ethical concerns of the internet and technology Regulatory frameworks and research governance Ethical requirements of funding bodies The involvement of research participants in research design Codes of ethics within different disciplines 'Ethical Dialogue' and 'Ethical Dilemmas' boxes feature throughout the book in order to highlight key issues. There are also further reading sections at the end of each chapter as well as expanded coverage of plagiarism. The Student's Guide to Research Ethics is an invaluable tool for both undergraduate and postgraduate students as well as professionals who research as part of their jobs.
ISBN: 9780335237975Publication Date: 2010-03-01
Research Ethics by
Education in the responsible conduct of research typically takes the form of online instructions about rules, regulations, and policies. Research Ethics takes a novel approach and emphasizes the art of philosophical decision-making. Part A introduces egoism and explains that it is in the individual's own interest to avoid misconduct, fabrication of data, plagiarism and bias. Part B explains contractualism and covers issues of authorship, peer review and responsible use of statistics. Part C introduces moral rights as the basis of informed consent, the use of humans in research, mentoring, intellectual property and conflicts of interests. Part D uses two-level utilitarianism to explore the possibilities and limits of the experimental use of animals, duties to the environment and future generations, and the social responsibilities of researchers. This book brings a fresh perspective to research ethics and will engage the moral imaginations of graduate students in all disciplines.
ISBN: 9780521187084Publication Date: 2013-01-03
The SAGE Handbook of Interview Research by
The second edition of this landmark volume emphasizes the dynamic, interactional, and reflexive dimensions of the research interview. Contributors highlight the myriad dimensions of complexity that are emerging as researchers increasingly frame the interview as a communicative opportunity as much as a data-gathering format. The book begins with an overview of the history and conceptual transformations of the interview, which is followed by chapters that discuss the main components of interview practice. Taken together, the contributions to the handbook encourage readers to simultaneously learn the frameworks and technologies of interviewing and reflect on the epistemological foundations of the interview craft.The handbook has been updated to address recent developments, especially in qualitative interviewing. Twenty-six chapters are completely new; the remaining twelve chapters have been substantially revised to give readers access to the state of the art of interview research. Three entirely new sections include "Logistics of Interviewing," "Self and Other in the Interview," and "Ethics of the Interview."
ISBN: 9781412981644Publication Date: 2012-02-14
