Recommended Databases to Locate Articles and Journals
- CINAHL UltimateFull text database of nursing & allied health journals.
- PubMed
Citation database compiling scholarly research from all aspects of biomedicine such as biochemistry, molecular biology, bioengineering systems, biotechnology, cell and developmental biology, genetics, health informatics, human structure and function, immunology, microbiology, immunology, neuroscience, pathology, pharmacology, and physiology.
- Academic Search UltimateA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Religion and Philosophy CollectionFull text journal collection covering world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
Searching CINAHL
Searching CINAHL - Advanced Search
How to Use Boolean Operators in Your Searches
Questions? Contact me!
Ask a Milner Librarian
Example Search in CINAHL
In order to find a relevant peer-reviewed article in CINAHL, think of the best words to describe your topic. This might be the name of a country or cultural group along with a certain disease or intervention. Add a word or short phrase to the first box, then another word in the second box. When using a phrase, be sure to put quotation marks around it so that the database knows to search for that exact phrase rather than as separate terms. Depending on the number and type of results, you might want to add additional terms your search.
Be sure to add a date range. I recommend using the last five years. You should also click the "peer-reviewed" button, so you find articles from refereed journals.
See the attached document below for a sample search.