Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Print Indexes to Historic Government Documents: Home

Provides a list of print indexes in Milner Library useful for locating government documents.

Print Indexes

1774-1881
A Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States, September 5, 1774-March 4, 1881, compiled by Ben Perley Poore.

Executive, legislative and judicial federal documents arranged chronologically according to publication's date of issue;  includes a general index. Continued by John Ames' work Comprehensive index to the publications of the United States government, 1881-1893 (see below). Location Floor 4 Documents Stacks Z1223 .A1885C
 

1789-1909
Checklist of United States Public Documents 1789-1909, Congressional: to close of Sixtieth Congress; departmental: to end of calendar year 1909, compiled by Mary A. Hartwell.

  • Lists of congressional and departmental publications dating from 1789 thtough 1909; arranged by agency and classification number where applicable, 1707 pages. Location Floor 4 Documents Stacks DOC. GP 3.2:789-909 (2 copies)

1789-1970
Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1970: Indexes, compiled by Daniel W. Lester and Marilyn A. Lester.

Five volume work

v. 1. Superintendent of Documents classification author-organizations. Table of contents of microfilm reels.

v. 2. U.S. Government author-organization index.

v. 3. Departmental keyword indexes to U.S. Government author-organizations.

v. 4. U.S. Government serial titles, 1789-1970.

v. 5. Master keyword index to the publication-issuing offices of the U.S. Government, 1789-1970.

Location Floor 4 Documents Stacks Z 1223 .Z7 .L45

1789-1975
Cumulative Title Index to U.S. Government Publication, 1789-1975, compiled by Daniel Lester, Sandra Faull, Lorraine Lester

  • Sixteen volumes contains alphabetical  listing of documents titles. Location Floor 4 Documents Stacks Z 1223 .Z7 .L47 

1790-1945
A Guide to Census Publications, 1790-1945

  • Single comprehensive listing of all materials issued by the Bureau of the Census and its predecessor organizations.census publications from 1790 to 1945 arranged by the Superintendent of Documents Classification system; includes detailed index.

Location Floor 2 Desk Documents Reference (2 copies)      DOC. C 3.2:P 96/8/790-945 DOC. C 3.2:P 96/8/790-945/1968

1881-1893
Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893, by John G. Ames.

  • Comprehensive index of government publications from 1889 to 1893 that continues Poore's Descriptive Catalogue. Arranged alphabetically by subject area with a personal name index in volume 2. Location Floor 4 Documents Stacks Z 1223 .A1905

1893-1940
Document Catalog, 1893-1940

  • Entries are under both personal and governmental authors, subject, and title. Includes a complete list of executive order covered in the period covered. Location Floor 4 Documents Stacks Z 1223 .A1905

1895-1995
Monthly Catalog of the United States Government Publications, 1895-1995

Entries for author, title, subject and series/reports in annual publications. Location Floor 4 Documents Stacks GP 3.2:years

1900-1971
Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1900-1971

Fifteen volumes provide subject access to the Monthly Catalog. Location Floor 4 Documents Stacks Z 1223 .A183