Milner Library subscribes to various newspapers both online and on microfilm.
1. Historical New York Times (Online) 1851-2019.
2. Historical Chicago Tribune (online). 1849-2014.
3. Bloomington Pantagraph (online) 1857 - 1926 through Newspapers.com Illinois Collection.
Full text of Harper's Weekly for the years 1857-1912.
5. Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers.
Full text database of 19th century papers including all states in the U.S.
6. Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
Full text for some 700+ newspapers from 1777-1963.
Additional Primary Sources
Collection of full text documents from eras of U.S. history
Civil War and Reconstruction Era (1861-1877).
Online exhibit with selected primary sources highlighting specific themes during Reconstruction.
Includes the full text of early African American newspapers, The Liberator, the National Anti-Slavery Standard, the Pennsylvania Gazette and the Virginia Gazette.
African American Newspapers
Full text of African American newspapers from 39 different states from 1827 - 1998.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Full text database of slavery statutes, legal cases, scholarly articles, and a guide to additional online sources.
American Periodical Series Online, 1741-1900+.
Full text of American popular and professional periodicals including over 1,000 titles in all, covering a wide range of subjects.
Black Thought and Culture.
Full text database of books, speeches, essays, articles, and interviews of major African American leaders from colonial times to the present..
Women and Social Movements in the U. S. 1600-2000.
Full text database of primary and secondary sources on women in social movements including the Freedmen's Aid, suffrage, temperance, labor and peace.
Reconstruction Era: (1865 - 1877) - Defining Documents in American History. (E-book).
Collection of full text speeches, letters, court cases and legislation with context and analysis of each document.
American Eras: Civil War and Reconstruction, 1860-1877: Primary Sources. (E-book).
Collection of documents arranged by topics such as politics, law, education, business, religion, science, etc.
Illinois State University
Campus Box 8900
201 North School Street
Normal, Il 61790-8900
Have comments or questions about our guides?
Please contact Instruction and Student Engagement: