Skip to Main Content

Mendeley

A quick guide on using the Mendeley source manager.

Adding Sources to Your Library and Collections

Mendeley provides a variety of options for adding sources. Most sources can be captured and directly imported into your Mendeley Library using the Mendeley Web Importer.

To capture a source on the web (databases, websites, YouTube, etc.), use the Web Importer*.

  1. When viewing a web page or article, click the Web Importer button.
    • The Web Importer usually recognizes the type of source automatically
    • Log into your Web Library if prompted
  2. When import box displays, click the Save button
  3. Wait while the Web Importer adds the source to your Web Library
  4. The source will be added to your Recently Added and All References folders
  5. Move the source to the desired collection
  6. If you have the desktop app installed, you will need to sync with your web library.

*More information about installing the Mendeley Web Importer can be found on the Installing the Web Importer page.

To capture several sources from a search results list (e.g. Google or databases), use the Web Importer*.

  1. When viewing the search results list, click the Web Importer icon.
  2. In the popup window, select which sources you want to import
  3. Click the Save button
  4. Wait while the Web Importer adds the sources to your Web Library.
  5. The added sources will be in the Recently Added and All References folders.
  6. Drag and drop to a specific folder
  7. If you installed the desktop app, you will need to sync with your web library.

*More information about installing the Mendeley Web Importer can be found on the Installing the Web Importer page.

To add individual items from a Google Scholar search list, use the following steps. To add two or more use the Web Importer.

  1. From your search results list, click the Quotes/Cite link
  2. Choose the RefMan option
  3. On the Save popup window, select the Download  radio button
  4. Click the OK/Save button
  5. In your web library, click the Add button
  6. Select From RIS (.ris)
  7. Navigate to the location of the file and click the Open button
  8. The reference will be added to the Recently Added and All References folders in Mendeley
    You will need to move it your desired folder

Note: You can add multiple sources at once from a search results list; consult the A Search Results tab on this page.

*Quick Import Method

You can drag and drop the file into the web library or desktop app.

if you have the desktop app installed, choose the Open with... option instead of the Save option. Select Mendeley as the Open application.

If the Web Importer isn't working or you need to export a large number of records, you can save your sources in a generic format that you import into your Mendeley library. Note: this option is only available with Library databases or if you transferring from another source manager.

  1. Search for and select or mark sources within the chosen database
  2. From the selected/marked list, export or save the sources either as an RIS or tab-delimited file*
    • Note: Wording differs among databases but is most often labeled as Export or Save
  3. In your web library, click the Add button
  4. Select From RIS (.ris)
  5. Navigate to the location of the file and click the Open button
  6. The reference will be added to the Recently Added and All References folders in Mendeley
    • You will need to drag and drop them into an existing collection

*Quick Import Method

You can drag and drop the file into the web library or desktop app.

if you have the desktop app installed, choose the Open with... option instead of the Save option. Select Mendeley as the Open application.

  1. Log into your Web Library
  2. Select the folder you want to add the document to
  3. Click the Add button
  4. Select Import Document
  5. Navigate to the location of the file and click the Open button
  6. Wait while the document is being processed and source information pulled from the file

Note

  • You can also drag and drop one or more documents at the same time.
  • If you do not add to a specific folder, the sources will be added to the Recently Added and All References folder. You will need to drag and drop them into an existing folder.

Occasionally, it is necessary to add a source manually.

  1. In your web library, click the Add button
  2. Select New manual entry
  3. Add the relevant information into the appropriate fields on the form
  4. Click the Save button at the top of the form

Ask me for help

Profile Photo
Jennifer Sharkey
(she/her)